Skip to content

Crochet Hibiscus Flowers

September 12, 2011

 

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

35 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 2:09 pm

    Those are fantastic. I can’t wait to make a brooch out of them!

    • September 12, 2011 2:34 pm

      Awesome! For a brooch size, I’d use a small metal hook and crochet thread.

  2. September 12, 2011 8:24 pm

    Well…I don’t crochet, but they are just lovely!

  3. September 13, 2011 12:06 am

    These are really pretty are you selling them? If so how much? Not for me….. Of course *looks nervously from side to side*

    • September 13, 2011 7:15 am

      Nope, not selling them. But I could make some pretty flowers for my baby brother for a friend of yours.

  4. Melinda permalink
    September 13, 2011 1:43 am

    Oh my gosh you are amazing!!! 😀 these are perfect for what I need…. I am so excited squeeeee hehee and the lime green is the color I was gonna use!!!

    I can’t wait to try them out 😀 you rock! Thank you soooooo much!

    • September 13, 2011 7:14 am

      I really hope these work out for you . . . I wasn’t sure of the size you were after, but I hope one of these works (and you can decrease your hook and yarn size to make them even smaller). Thanks so much for the idea — it’s something I never would have thought of on my own!

    • Melinda permalink
      September 13, 2011 9:46 am

      They will be perfect I think the small one is the one I’ll use but I will try out both 😉
      I want to try smaller ones, I can def find a use for any size hehee 😀
      And you are most welcome, if I need something else and can’t find a pattern I’ll be sure to ask haha thank you again I appreciate it alot ❤

  5. September 16, 2011 1:20 am

    Hi Heidi! I really love your hibiscus flower and I’m choosing it as my “Pick of the Week” for my blog. Do you mind if I borrow your picture? Let me know if you do.

  6. Melinda permalink
    September 24, 2011 11:18 pm

    So I finally got a chance to make one of these cute things 😀 I had some baby stuff I’d been working on. Your pattern was so easy and I had no trouble at all thank you again and I will try to post you a pic on your flickr group soonish 😉

  7. lil doll permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:23 pm

    super cute

  8. Denise Cole permalink
    November 5, 2011 9:33 pm

    Hi,

    These are adorable and I started to make one, but I have a few questions and I am hoping you can help guide me through the pattern. For either the large or small the last step states:

    “DO NOT TURN. This will be your finishing round, and will be worked in the round. Make evenly along bottom of petal: sc, hdc, dc, 3 dc in center of magic ring, dc, hdc, sc. Join to first sc with sl st (you have just worked across bottom of petal). (Ch 3, sl st in next st) 15 times. Finish off. Weave in ends.”

    Does this finish just one petal? Do you work sc, hdc, dc, 3 dc in center of magic ring, dc, hdc, sc. all these in the middle of the ring? If not, where do you work them? Then ch 3 and sl st in what next stitch? Then I am really confused as to what you repeat 15 times.

    Do you make each petal separate and then sew together with the stamen? Or are the above instructions to make the next petal.

    Sorry. I hope my questions make sense. Thank you in advance for any help you may provide. I am making these to put onto ponytail ties and I will be giving them to charity. So I hope to make these!!

    Thanks again,

    Denise

    • November 5, 2011 9:53 pm

      Do not despair, I will answer you tomorrow — I have guests over tonight, and I don’t have time to fully respond immediately. Thanks for your patience!

    • November 6, 2011 9:11 am

      Yes, this is just one petal (at the top of the pattern it says, “For the petals (make 5)”), and yes, you will make each petal separately and sew them together at the end (these instructions are in the last paragraph of the pattern).

      Up until the end of row 5, you worked back and forth by chaining one, then turning. Round six is your finishing round, and you don’t turn your work, but rather work around the perimeter of your petal. At the end of row 5, your hook and yarn are at the bottom edge of the petal, and now you will work evenly through the stitches at the bottom of the petal — all of them, not just into the ring (the only stitches actually made into the ring at this point are the three double crochets).

      Please note what the pattern states: “Make evenly along bottom of petal: sc, hdc, dc, 3 dc in center of magic ring, dc, hdc, sc. Join to first sc with sl st (you have just worked across bottom of petal).” So, you will make a total of 9 stitches across the bottom of the petal, which will bring you back to the very first stitch that you made in row 5 (the first single crochet). You will join to this sc with a sl st. Now you will keep working around the perimeter of the petal, and work into the stitches from row 5. At this point, you are making decorative picot stitches. The picots are the ch 3, sl st in next st. Right now, your hook and yarn are at the first sc of row 5 below. Chain 3, sl st into the second sc of row 5. Chain 3, sl st into the third sc of row 5, etc. etc.

      This is what is repeated 15 times — you are making 15 picot stitches around the petal — (Ch 3, sl st in next st) 15 times.

      Please let me know if this is clear! Thanks!

  9. Denise Cole permalink
    November 6, 2011 2:25 pm

    Thank you so much!!! Now that you explain it, I think I was just tired last night and not reading the pattern correctly. Or at least I’m hoping i was just tired 🙂 I will get to work on these in the next few days and hopefully post a finished pic as pretty as yours!

    Thank you again for your help.

    Denise

  10. Denise Cole permalink
    November 9, 2011 10:15 pm

    Yea!!! I finished the flower!!! Once you get a rhythm going, the petals go pretty fast. A little hard to sew together but I am a crocheter not much of a seamstress!!!

    I posted a pic on the Speckless flickr group. My user name there is dcole47. Thanks for the extra help!

    Denise

    • November 10, 2011 6:36 am

      It looks perfect! You’re not alone — I really don’t like sewing crochet together, and it’s almost always awkward, but sometimes it’s necessary to get the result you’re after!

  11. November 30, 2011 2:04 pm

    Can’t wait to try this!!! Thanks for posting!

  12. Joan permalink
    February 24, 2012 11:10 am

    I absolutely LOVE your blog, I personally don’t do it (blogging), but came across yours because of your simplicity. I only follow 5 people, and you are by far one of the top on my list! You are one gifted and crafty lady! I’m from Hawaii (now living in Austin, TX) and have been searching for how to crochet a hibiscus and voila! you’ve made them! and ohhhh so beautifully! I can’t wait to make them! Thank you so much for sharing your God-given talents, your work is wonderful! and I look forward to getting your posts via email:) …May The Lord continue blessing you<3

    • February 24, 2012 2:05 pm

      Oh, thanks so much, Joan! Your kind words really made my Friday . . . and it’s comments like these that keep me going here!

  13. Vicky permalink
    February 24, 2012 7:11 pm

    Hi I’m back for more. I can’t tell you how many crocheted headbands I have made for my daughter, and her buddies. Can you tell me do you offer this as a PDF? I do better when I can hold the pattern in my hand. Thank you these are just what I have been wishing for!

  14. roberta permalink
    March 5, 2012 6:10 pm

    Hi, I love your flower, but I don’t understand your pattern. After you finish #6 which is finishing the pedal, you say to do a ch1 and sl st. 15 times!! How do you get to the 2nd pedal?? I don’t see where you state that. I appreciate all your effort. Thank you. Roberta

    • March 5, 2012 6:16 pm

      Hi, Roberta,
      The [ch 3, sl st] 15 times are the picots around the perimeter of the petal — you don’t necessarily even have to do those if you don’t want the ruffled edging around the petal. At the top of the pattern, you will see it says, “For the petals (make 5):”

      You make five single, separate petals, then sew them together when you make the stamen.

  15. Brenda Marie permalink
    March 9, 2012 4:10 pm

    Beautiful flowers! Thank you so much for sharing your pattern!

  16. April 9, 2012 9:19 am

    Thank you so much for this lovely pattern. I had no trouble following it. Connecting the petals and shaping them was a bit more time consuming than it should have been, but that’s because i’m clumsy. I’ve also changed the pistil thingy – chains, and three picot, then slip stitches back down the stem while twisting it at each stitch.

    It can be seen at my blog (at bottom of poem). Blessings!

    • April 9, 2012 5:32 pm

      Oooo. I love how it turned out! And, you’re right — sewing the petals is tedious. But I couldn’t figure how to do it all in one piece and still have it look like a true hibiscus!

  17. pauline permalink
    August 11, 2012 11:57 pm

    Hi there! I dont know how to crochet, but i’m looking for a few crocheted hibiscus flowers to put on my luggage as luggage markers. Would you (or any of your other readers) be willing to help me out? I’m not particular about colors but just want something cute to put on my bags! I’m willing to pay, of course! please let me know. =)

    • August 13, 2012 7:28 am

      Hi, Pauline! If I had some time, I would love to! BUT, looks like I have an entire wedding to plan in about a year — and I’m already overwhelmed with the thought of it! Anyone else want to dive in here? Help a girl out!

  18. October 2, 2012 7:06 pm

    Thank you for the pattern. You suggested small beads on the pistil/stamen, but not having any, I used french knots!! It worked very well.

  19. Viv permalink
    March 5, 2013 3:12 am

    I have been looking for a patern and found yours . As I was trying to figure out the pattern my brain jumped ahead and I created the large hibiscus with picots in one piece. Then knowing I could I went back to projects in progress. I am still working on bunnies and trying to figure out how to get the picture out of my head and onto paper. Not sure how to send a picture either

Trackbacks

  1. H is for He | Penned Pebbles

Leave a comment