Skip to content

This Dang Stick

September 17, 2011

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Hathaway permalink
    September 17, 2011 1:05 pm

    You’re nuts! That is the cutest, most unique, and most lovable piece of art I’ve ever seen! I ADORE it. And you should, too.

    • September 17, 2011 2:23 pm

      Aw, thanks, Ann. I think it’ll grow on me😉

  2. September 17, 2011 1:40 pm

    Hello! This is really beautiful! You had a great idea and made it so wonderful! Love the birds and lace!
    Wishes from Greece!

  3. September 17, 2011 3:26 pm

    Great work! I love the colours of the crochet, – it has a vintage look to it.

  4. Julie Stewart permalink
    September 17, 2011 6:00 pm

    LOL I thought I was the only one that “got mad” at stuff like that! lol its funny, how you can have stuff invisioned in your head but somehow it just doesn’t do what its supposed to! lol seriously though, I thought this turned out really well, loved your “clouds” and the “vine” don’t beat yourself up, you did good Girlie! Take care and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • September 17, 2011 6:04 pm

      Thanks, Julie! And yes, I get mad at my projects a lot. Just do what I want you to, dang it!🙂

  5. September 17, 2011 6:18 pm

    That is pretty cool….I think it’s my favorite crochet project you’ve done so far!

    • September 18, 2011 4:40 pm

      Really? Thanks! If I end up really hating it, maybe I’ll send it your way😉

  6. September 17, 2011 8:17 pm

    our greatest critics are ourselves. and if you stare long enough into the abyss, the abyss stares back into you…. It’s kinda the game of “give and take”. I’m the same way with my pieces I do, it’s like “why am I doing this anymore? does this even look good?” and you realize that your work is pointless and dumb.

    it’s not until fresh eyes see the outcome that the spectacular moment of awe inspiring adoration occurs. It’s never your own eyes. Always someone who sees it and doesn’t see the minor things you did incorrectly.

    Simply put; this is very intriguing and cool to look at. I’d hang it in my apartment if you ever decided it wasn’t growing on you. Even if it was growing on you, like a tumor, then I could still take it and hang it in my apartment and save your life.

  7. Mhairi permalink
    September 18, 2011 12:01 am

    I love your stick but if you are still not sold on it, have you thought about adding something to the doilies. I am not sure what, a bit of colour, some beads just to brighten it up. The birds are so colourful and I think the doilies blend into the wall (a good or bad thing depending on what look you wanted to achieve).
    I love it though it is totally cute. Next time you see a stick – PICK IT UP!!!!
    This is such a creative and lovely idea, make some more and put them on etsy for a little girls room – how much funkier is this than an animal mobile! Love it.

Trackbacks

  1. Driftwood Mobile | Speckless Blog

Leave a Reply

