Skip to content

L’ Etoile du Nord

March 30, 2013

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2013 4:39 pm

    love it! How old were you when you learned to hammer in nails?

    • March 31, 2013 9:43 am

      Ah! For sure I was 5, but maybe even a bit younger than that!

  2. March 31, 2013 3:37 am

    I used to love doing these when I was younger but only did those dull 70s geometric designs. This is far more creative. Looks fab! 🙂

    • March 31, 2013 9:42 am

      Well, I kind of (really) want to get my hands on one of those old kits from the 70s! I think they look like fun!

  3. malvadesignstudio permalink
    May 9, 2013 5:54 am

    Wow, that’s amazing! I live in Cambridge, UK and thought that I could do similar to yours with the whole Great Britain and my town. Oh, I so want to make it!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    November 2, 2013 2:53 pm

    So creative! How far apart did you space your nails and what size nails did you choose?

    • November 4, 2013 6:28 am

      Aaah . . . they are very small nails — a half inch or less (?) They’re about a quarter inch apart — as close as I could get them! In some parts, I had to hold the nail with a little pliers while I pounded it in.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    December 30, 2013 10:58 pm

    um I was just wondering is there any type of pattern that you fallow with the string and how do you tie it off at the end I would love to make just a heart shaped one for my mother her birthday is coming up I think she would love it.

    • December 31, 2013 10:53 am

      The string pattern is random. I kinda tried to do “wide strokes” to start, then fill in with more detail/string where I thought it needed it. To tie off, I wrapped the string really tight around the nail I ended on (just a couple times), then tied an overhand knot as close as I could to the nail shaft. Then, I put a dab of clear nail polish over the knot for extra security.

Trackbacks

  1. CraftCrave | Blog | Free Handcraft Items or Tutorials (large): Sunday, 31 Mar 2013
  2. 19 United States Inspired Crafts - Do Small Things with Love

Leave a comment