Skip to content

Little Skull and Crossbones Crochet Pattern

April 3, 2012

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

53 Comments leave one →
  1. renee permalink
    April 3, 2012 9:28 pm

    Thanx this is great the kids will love it and a few older ones too i do love your site and designs it helps us soooooo much too have tutes( tutorials) by for now renee

    • April 4, 2012 6:29 am

      I wanted to have a photo step-by-step. But, I was on a time crunch and worked on it at night . . . so I hope it’s easy enough to follow the written instructions!

  2. April 4, 2012 3:49 am

    Hi! I’ve been following your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the great work!

  3. April 4, 2012 5:27 am

    Haha this is so badass it’s cool! 🙂 I know just the friend who to make this for 😉
    xo,
    wink

  4. April 4, 2012 1:48 pm

    I love this! I’m a certified bad ass, so this is perfect for me 🙂

    • April 4, 2012 4:20 pm

      haHAHA! Is that your job title ;)?

    • April 4, 2012 10:02 pm

      Actually, yes. I have business cards proving it 😛

  5. rodprjonar permalink
    April 4, 2012 1:53 pm

    This is awesome!!
    I know several little guys and even big guys that would kill for one of this!
    You Rock Heidi!!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    April 14, 2012 11:10 am

    hmm…now i need a pattern for a wristband!! I sooo need to make lots of these!!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    May 28, 2012 8:21 am

    Thank you so much for the pattern! I looked all over for one of these and yours is so cute! I am making a toddler ear flap hat with skull and crossbones and mohawk! Your directions were easy to follow and it turned out great!

  8. Randi permalink
    June 4, 2012 5:08 pm

    I just made this with black crochet thread and a size D hook for a small trinket box that my husband has and he loved it! Super simple pattern and lots of fun to make, thanks!

  9. Sev permalink
    June 29, 2012 4:12 pm

    Fantastic pattern, thanks! Can’t make enough of them now haha

    • June 29, 2012 5:33 pm

      Awesome! I find that making garlands is a great way to use up patterns that are addicting — the skulls without the bones would make a fantastically spectacular array . . .

  10. Terri permalink
    July 31, 2012 5:49 pm

    Love it!!! Thank you so much for sharing! I created a couple. The second one I modified the bottom for a longer jaw by using a treble stitch. I like it both ways. ❤ Thanks!!

    • August 1, 2012 7:08 am

      Yes! That’s an awesome idea — I’d love to see pictures!

  11. August 22, 2012 10:39 pm

    Thanks for the pattern! Made some finger-less gloves for a friend’s daughter and she has a thing for skulls. Here’s a picture: http://pinterest.com/pin/164240717631698291/

    • August 23, 2012 7:11 am

      Wow! Those turned out awesome! Thanks for sharing — I love to see projects!

  12. November 23, 2012 1:00 am

    My project is in progress, but here’s where I used your skull and cross bones pattern:

    Thank you for sharing!

    • November 24, 2012 9:01 am

      Wow — that looks great! Thanks for sharing!

    • Vera Richards permalink
      May 28, 2014 10:27 am

      looking good

  13. January 29, 2013 9:35 pm

    This pattern is GREAT! I put a skull and crossbones on a scarf I just made for my five yearold son, and I just KNOW he’s going to go nuts over it! Can’t wait for him to see it in the morning! (Night time is the best crochet time!!!)

  14. Merriam Powell permalink
    January 31, 2013 10:18 am

    It’s easy finding gifts to make for my daughters, the boys is where it gets difficult, but this…oh my…this is so perfect!! I just whipped two of these up in no time at all for some valentines gifts I am making for them. Thank you so much for the awesome pattern!!

  15. March 4, 2013 10:25 am

    That is so easy to follow. Your pattern-writing skills are excellent! Thanks 🙂

  16. April 14, 2013 12:36 am

    Bardzo dowcipna i niezwykła :o). Pozdrawiam z Polski. Ala

  17. zelda permalink
    May 8, 2013 6:44 pm

    ok im not getting it how can u join to the first sc when u havent even made a stich other than a chain? im putting this on a baby hat for my daughter?

    • May 8, 2013 7:57 pm

      Hm. Good question! I meant ch 15 and join to the first ch, making a ring. I have updated this, thank you. Everyone else must have just brushed it off!

  18. crystal permalink
    May 18, 2013 1:16 am

    you should make a you tube tatorial for thows who learn by watching instead of reading and also for beginners who wanna try this like me lol i cant find anything on you tube with a skull and crossbones on a beanie 😦 im trying to make one for my new born for wen he gets bigger

    • May 18, 2013 11:21 am

      Sorry for that, Crystal. I do try to have a mix of photo step-by-steps and just written patterns. I do not own video equipment for making videos, nor can I afford it right now. It takes several hours to make, photograph, edit, and write step-by-step photo tutorials, and I just plain-old don’t have time to do that for every project, unfortunately.

      If you are stuck, or if you have questions, please let me know and I will do my best to talk you through it!

  19. Haley Herron permalink
    June 14, 2013 7:44 pm

    Same here I would like more pics can’t read that much Ugh

  20. June 18, 2013 10:35 am

    This is great! I featured a link to your pattern this morning on my blog: http://www.mooglyblog.com/crochet-appliques-free/

    Thanks so much for sharing your pattern!

  21. Deana Rock permalink
    July 28, 2013 11:30 am

    I’ve been looking for a skull & cross bones pattern!! Wer’e a Harley riding family and this pattern will be on ALL the kids winter hats, and EVERYTHING!! THANKS!!!

  22. September 5, 2013 9:24 pm

    Awesome! Turned out perfect, thanks for the pattern!

  23. Meredith May permalink
    September 10, 2013 9:34 am

    Thank you for this pattern! I was a perfect addition to my son’s new hat!! 🙂

  24. kristi de permalink
    May 20, 2014 6:49 pm

    i have had this on my desktop for a while, and even tried a different pattern (which didn’t work for me at all!!) before finding yours. but i kept putting it off… i got this on the first try! thanks so much!!

  25. Vera Richards permalink
    May 28, 2014 10:24 am

    this is just great….gonna make some coffee cup cozies and was looking for motifs for them….this is just so perfect….love it!!

  26. Kirstin Bonney permalink
    September 1, 2014 12:51 pm

    This is perfect! I had my eleven year old daughter going through appliqués on Ravelry to put on her Mohawk hat! This is the one she picked!!! Thanks!

  27. beth permalink
    November 10, 2014 9:08 pm

    Love the pattern it was quick easy and I plan to add it to some fingerless gloves for a lil boy thanks for keeping it free!

  28. sierra permalink
    December 8, 2014 3:31 pm

    i’m so confused about the cross bones! can someone explain this one to me please? it makes no sense to sl st into a chain that doesn’t exist??

    • December 9, 2014 6:57 am

      Not sure which sl st you are referring to, but:
      Chain 4 and sl st to first chain you made. This will make a tiny circle. In other words: (ch 4, sl st into 4th ch from your hook).This makes one bone nub.

      Now you will make the other nub: chain 4, then sl st into the same ch you made a sl st into to make the first circle. This will also be the very first chain you made and will have your yarn end dangling from it.

      Chain 14 to make the long part of the bone. To make the last 2 nubs: Sl st into 4th ch from hook (makes a little circle of 4 chains at the other end of the bone). Chain 4 and sl st into the same place you just made the other sl st into. This makes the final bone nub.

  29. Anonymous permalink
    December 15, 2014 11:40 am

    I think this is the cutest thing I have ever crocheted! And I’m not usually I skull kind of person! It is so quick and easy. I made one to put on my nephew’s hat, and now I can’t stop making them. How many things can you tastefully put skulls on? I’m about to find out!

  30. Raven permalink
    May 10, 2015 10:16 pm

    Help… I’m sort of new to crocheting and I have no clue what the short terms mean but I have to put a skull on a hat I made for a friend. Usually making things in the go is pretty easy for me but adding decorations other then a name is hard and I have no clue what these terms mean. I mean I can guess at a couple but I don’t wanna mess up

Trackbacks

  1. Skull and crossbones hat | Hook, Line, & Sinker
  2. Amazing Crochet Appliques: Free Patterns to Embellish Anything!
  3. Most Metal Tissue Box Cozy (free crochet pattern) | craftyghoul
  4. 10 Free Crochet Ocean Applique Patterns: From Fish to Anchors!

Leave a comment