Skip to content

Tutorial: Crochet Bow Headband

November 18, 2010

Hello!

This site and contents now live atย http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

66 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 12:02 pm

    nice tutorial! so cute. wish I had the patience to work with yarn….someday ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 18, 2010 1:01 pm

      You know, this made me think. You can probably wrap the yarn, glueing as you go, then attach a different embellishment (buttons, ribbon, fabric flowers, etc.).

  2. Diane permalink
    November 20, 2010 9:09 am

    That is simple and yet amazing! I love things that are simple but look they are complicated. Thank you for sharing! I wish I knew some little girls that would wear this type of headband.

  3. Diane permalink
    November 20, 2010 9:09 am

    That is simple and yet amazing! I love things that are simple but look like they are complicated. Thank you for sharing! I wish I knew some little girls that would wear this type of headband.

  4. November 26, 2010 11:01 am

    Hello!
    I saw you on Craft Gossip. I agree with Diane! It’s so simple and yet the final looks is just perfect!
    Thank you so much for sharing!

  5. November 27, 2010 10:49 am

    Absolutely LOVE this! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing!

  6. November 29, 2010 7:58 am

    So cute! I’m always looking for quick crochet projects that aren’t just scarves and beenies. I think I’ll try gluing a small piece of ribbon over the ends of the hairband then crocheting over those to hide the edges. Thanks so much for the tute.

    • December 1, 2010 11:35 am

      wow! Thanks for this tutorial, it`s so cute ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Mizzkodak permalink
    December 8, 2010 8:46 am

    This is so adorable, I am going to make some for Christmas presents, thank you so much.

  8. Vicky permalink
    December 15, 2010 7:39 pm

    I can’t get it! I have been trying but I am missing something.

    • December 15, 2010 7:41 pm

      Oh no! What are you having problems with? Let me know, and I’ll try to talk you through it.

    • Vicky permalink
      December 15, 2010 11:12 pm

      I can’t get started. I have only crocheted starting with a chain. So I am not sure how to start. Thanks

    • December 16, 2010 9:34 am

      Vicky,
      Here’s a link showing you how to do single crochet into a chain:

      Now, rather than crocheting into a chain, you will be single crocheting around the headband (maybe think of your headband as a chain of stitches). First, cast on one loop onto your hook, as you would to start any crochet project. Then, put your working end of yarn (the one attached to the skein) under the headband.

      At this point, you will be holding the headband and the working end of your yarn in your left hand, and your hook with the one cast-on loop in your right. Now, wrap your yarn (yarn over) your hook, and pull that yarn through your first loop. Now, your first single crochet is made!

      To keep going, slide your hook under your headband, yarn over, pull the new yarn up even with your first single crochet, yarn over, and pull through the two loops that are on your hook. This is best illustrated in picture #4 and #5.

      Please let me know if this helps, otherwise, I can send you my e-mail and I’ll try to send you some photos or something!

  9. Vicky permalink
    December 17, 2010 9:55 pm

    Ok thanks I will try I again tomorrow. I want to do this in black for my daughter winter concert outfit. I’ll let you know how far I get.

    • December 17, 2010 11:00 pm

      If you keep having problems, you could just wrap yarn around and glue in a few spots, then crochet the bow and continue as instructed. I really hope you can get it! Again, let me know if you need better explanation/pictures/etc. Good luck!

  10. alessandra teles permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:16 am

    adorei o pap ,ja fiz um para minha sobrinha !
    vou postar no meu blog
    leca arte.blogspot.com visite !!!

  11. January 18, 2011 1:34 pm

    thanks for sharing this is cool! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. February 20, 2011 3:13 pm

    I, too, am lost on how to crochet around the headband. Without the loops from a pre-existing chain (or previous stitches) to go into, I just can’t seem to “get it.” I’d love to figure it out, though, as this looks like a perfect project for my daughter and her friends who are just learning to crochet – it’s basic stitches, it’s a fairly small project, and it’s something they will use when they’re done.

    Thanks for sharing!

  13. February 25, 2011 10:54 pm

    Very nice tutorial, I’ve featured your site on this page
    http://www.thepatterndepot.com/crochetprojects.htm

  14. Vicky permalink
    March 13, 2011 11:44 pm

    I did it! I finally did it! I can’t figure out how to send I photo but I will. I am going to attach a crocheted shamrock to it for St. Patricks day. Thank you so much for all of the extra help and patience!

    • March 14, 2011 9:42 am

      YEEEEEE! I’m so happy! Thanks for sticking in there, Vicky!

  15. March 15, 2011 12:26 am

    Thank you for this great tutorial, a small thread to you on my blog.
    Hello from France, Miette

    • March 15, 2011 10:09 am

      Merci beaucoup! Thanks so much! I truly appreciate it!

  16. May 25, 2011 9:41 am

    Amei … gosto muito de trico e croche e achei simples e lindo … as garotas vรฃo adorar este adereรงo para cabelo. Bjks

  17. Annie Oper permalink
    July 31, 2011 12:11 pm

    This is darling! I was thinking, couldn’t you put the beads on yarn first and place them as you go? If I get a chance, I think I might try it that way. If it doesn’t work, I won’t have lost anything, I’ll save the beads on the yarn to do it your way.
    I have a 3 year old grandaughter that will love this! I think I’ll try the purse too. I’ll let you know.

    • July 31, 2011 8:42 pm

      Thanks! I think the reason I didn’t pre-string beads was because there was already a lot going on with crocheting around the headband and keeping all the stitches nice and neat (?). For sure let me know how yours turns out (and add it to the flickr group when you’re done–you can find the link under the Patterns & Tutorials page ; ] )!

  18. Annie Oper permalink
    August 1, 2011 3:35 pm

    Thanks, I’ll let you know. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Ashley Bunn permalink
    September 12, 2011 1:22 pm

    That’s such a cute idea. now i know what to make for my 3 yr old

    • September 12, 2011 2:34 pm

      Awww. I’d love to see it if you make it!

  20. Emma permalink
    September 21, 2011 11:30 pm

    It took me a while to figure out how to crochet around the headband, but I eventually got it! Now, the one other thing I’m unclear on is how to hide the final little tail of yarn. You said, “Thread your yarn end back up through the tube of stitches, pull it tight, and cut off the excess.” I don’t thoroughly understand that, so if you could elaborate on that, t’would be lovely. Thanks so much for a cute pattern, and for helping me, should you respond. ^.^ xx

    • September 22, 2011 7:29 am

      No problem! Thread the yarn tail through a large, blunt needle. Carefully stick the needle up through several of the stitches you made around the headband (the “tube”). I pulled my yarn through the inside of the stitches, on the underside of the headband (where it will rest on your head). Pull the needle through the stitches and cut the yarn close to where it exited. I hope that makes sense — if not, hit me up!

    • Emma permalink
      September 22, 2011 12:44 pm

      Thanks! Now I just need to go buy needles… >.> Other than that though, I finished the headband. I made it green with a black bow, but made the bow’s “knot” green as well. It turned out pretty cute!

    • September 22, 2011 2:58 pm

      Awesome! I’d love to see it, and you should show it off on the Speckless Flickr page!

  21. rachel permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:41 am

    Love this idea cant wait too try it!

  22. Ellen permalink
    December 26, 2011 10:47 am

    unbelievably cute and easy!

  23. Michelle permalink
    January 3, 2012 5:08 pm

    This is such a fun project…I’ve made 4 already…my grand-daughters will love these. I’ve been adding little crochet flowers or butterflies….so cute! I love all your ideas….I’m new to crochet and I can follow them easily…thanks for keeping us beginners in mind! Happy New Year.

    • January 3, 2012 5:48 pm

      I’m sooo happy to hear that! Happy, happy New Year to you!

  24. April 7, 2012 7:17 am

    Love this! I used the bow for a teddy bear I made.

  25. Martha permalink
    August 29, 2012 2:05 pm

    Very cute!!! Do you a video to follow on how to do the headband . Thank you

    • August 29, 2012 4:21 pm

      Sorry — I don’t have any way to do video — just the pics!

  26. Donna permalink
    August 29, 2012 4:48 pm

    I’m in the process of teaching myself to crochet and knit, through the use of books and videos. I have a 10 year-old grand-daughter who likes putting her hair up. This looks easy enough that I think I can make her a headband from her grandma! (I’m certainly going to try!) Thank you for this video ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. wendy gallaway permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:44 pm

    my girls are going to love this!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. August 29, 2012 9:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing. My daughter has been asking me for one. Can’t wait to try this.

  29. Anonymous permalink
    January 22, 2013 9:52 am

    Hi i had made this cute headbands for my friend’s daughter birthday …… it came out very nice and all like it .Msny in the party was asking me to make for them and sell them is it ok if i do that …..Wanted to ask u before i go for it
    Thank you!!!

    • January 22, 2013 5:25 pm

      Yes — no problem! I just ask that you don’t sell the pattern itself or pass off the pattern as your own. Make and sell to your heart’s content!

  30. January 22, 2013 9:55 am

    I had made this for friends birthday all loved it . some people are asking me can u make for us and we will pay . wanted to ask u before …. Can I make it?

  31. net permalink
    January 22, 2013 2:28 pm

    Hi Speckless
    I loved ur pattern and made for my friend daughter bday .Thank you For sharing the pattern.
    People here r asking me to make and they r ready to pay …..Wanted to confirm it with you before i start it.
    Thank you
    net

  32. Anonymous permalink
    January 27, 2013 11:23 am

    this is fantastic!!! Just found you, love your creativity and your awesome projects, different.
    Instead of clue at the ends of the headband what I did was when I weaved in the first and
    last stragglers I had both ends meet where I was going to attach the bow and tied them
    together so now the single crochet are not going anywhere and if you can’t totally hide the knot you made into the sc don’t worry the bow will hide it.

  33. Anonymous permalink
    January 27, 2013 11:25 am

    I just left a comment and didn’t fill in my e-mail, oops. this goes with the comment on how i joined the two stragglers together

  34. dara permalink
    May 3, 2014 7:18 pm

    I love love love this idea. I am still kind of a crochet novice so not for lack of trying I am having trouble getting stated. Do you have a YouTube video on this I could see??

  35. September 20, 2014 10:26 am

    What a cute headband! Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. CUTE BOW HEADBAND · Crochet | CraftGossip.com
  2. CUTE BOW HEADBAND | delta.fundacionitm.com
  3. Crochet Bow Headband « Me and My Crochet
  4. Best Recycled Crafts
  5. Simple Saturday Tutorials
  6. Pattern Pride « Speckless Blog
  7. First Birthday! « Speckless Blog
  8. Crochet Bow Headband « Crochet Day to Day
  9. Best Recycled Crafts

Leave a comment