Skip to content

Broomstick Lace Tutorial

February 12, 2012


This site and contents now live at

Hope to see you there,


129 Comments leave one →
  1. jan permalink
    July 25, 2013 2:52 pm

    love it so easy to follow thank you

  2. August 3, 2013 7:12 pm

    Great tutorial. Do visit my broomstick patterns too when you find time. here is the link.
    Thanks a ton

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 8, 2013 2:04 pm

    Beautifully and patiently explained, with pictures for each step. It was very easy to follow and very helpful. Thank you!

  4. hester van staden permalink
    August 10, 2013 7:04 am

    i do not understand the last 5 sts of row 4. can you help me please?

    • August 10, 2013 9:19 am

      Yes! Can you copy and paste the text that you’re stuck on (because the tutorial isn’t written in rows)?

  5. October 20, 2013 11:22 pm

    I have watched countless YouTube videos and have yet to figure it out.I came across your tutorial and I finally know how to do this stitch! Thank you!!! :)

    • October 21, 2013 7:05 am

      Oh my, you don’t know how happy this makes me! Thank you so much!

  6. Hito permalink
    October 27, 2013 6:00 am

    I have literally read through three broomstick lace patterns and sobbed because they didn’t explain the transition from the first five to the second well. I tried and tried and couldn’t. Thank you so much for pictures and well described actions!!! I look forward to finally getting this right!!!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    November 7, 2013 12:07 pm

    Why don’t you just do a video ?

    • November 7, 2013 2:49 pm

      I don’t have money to purchase a video camera. I often don’t do tutorials all in one sitting because I have a full time job and I don’t have time to do that.

  8. Marina permalink
    November 19, 2013 4:30 am

    Great tutorial.
    Is there a right side to broomstick lace or not?

    • November 19, 2013 2:56 pm

      The right side is the side that faces you as you work through the top loops of the broomstick lace! Depending on the pattern, you might always have the right side facing you (because broomstick lace is worked back and forth without turning), or you might have some rows of different stitches between broomstick lace rows. Then, you would be turning your work.

  9. Rachel permalink
    January 3, 2014 6:29 pm

    I have been making a baby blanket it is ready to finish. What is the best way to finish it? The blanket is the broomstick lace style.
    Thanks. Rachel

  10. February 1, 2014 7:59 pm

    Reblogged this on Brooklyn Red Girl and commented:
    broomstick lace

  11. February 2, 2014 3:04 pm

    Reblogged this on UK Crochet Patterns.

  12. February 2, 2014 5:50 pm

    Check out our Broomstick Lace Blanket/Afghan. Great tutorial.

  13. February 3, 2014 3:26 pm

    I may actually give it a try after reading through this !!! always thought it was way too hard, you have explained it wonderfully .

  14. Angela permalink
    February 8, 2014 10:52 am

    I am just learning to crochet and looked at the picture and thought no way! Your pictures and explanations made it easy to follow and I am proud to say it worked.. Thanks for making it seem easy!

    • February 8, 2014 11:10 am

      YES! I am so glad it made sense and worked for you — it feels awesome to learn a new skill!

  15. Anonymous permalink
    March 16, 2014 3:27 am

    Hi,from the Philippines ,
    thanks for this wonderful share! i did it!

  16. July 18, 2014 7:07 pm

    Reblogged this on missy4987m and commented:
    I can not print this page.

  17. Steph permalink
    August 24, 2014 1:35 pm

    Hi, does the single crochet that joins the five loop groups count as one of the five single crochets into that group?

    • September 2, 2014 7:02 am

      Yes! There should be a total of 5 sc in each group.

  18. Jessica permalink
    September 28, 2014 1:01 am

    I love this tutorial!!! I have been wanting to learn broomstick lace for awhile but haven’t had the time to teach myself until now. Thank you for making the learning part easy…now I can’t put it down :-)

  19. Anonymous permalink
    December 10, 2014 3:41 pm

    Thanks for an easy to follow tutorial. I found the hardest part was keeping all the loops the same way round. I did two rows on a thick rolling pin then two on a wooden spoon handle. I was over the moon with the results. Thanks.

  20. Anonymous permalink
    January 22, 2015 4:27 pm

    Oh my gosh, My Grandmother also made broomstick lace….and her name was Grace. I loved see this…

  21. Anonymous permalink
    February 3, 2015 3:38 pm

    I did it! Very good instructions, thank you

  22. mawz76 permalink
    February 6, 2015 12:47 am

    Your tutorial was exactly what I needed. I am making a broomstick lace afghan. The pattern instructions weren’t detailed enough., so I’m so glad I found your example. Its comung along beautifully. Thanks so much for posting this!!!

  23. Anonymous permalink
    May 6, 2015 5:57 am

    Thank you! I just got a lovely cashmere lace yarn that I want to use for a scarf for my mother. I was scratching my head all night trying to figure out broomstick lace for it. Finally I found your tutorial and I’m flying through practicing it :) I don’t have any large hooks/needles or dowels on hand, but I’m using a credit card and it’s working nicely. Again, THANK YOU :)

    • May 6, 2015 6:59 am

      YAY! So happy to hear that! It really isn’t hard once you get the hang of it — just a little tedious.


  1. CraftCrave | Blog | Textual List: Monday, 13 Feb 2012
  2. Broomstick Tutorial · Crochet |
  3. West Coast Wardrobe Crocheted Lace Knit Duster | Ladies Shop
  4. Easy Broomstick Lace Collar, or Scarf, Pattern « Speckless Blog
  5. Broomstick Tutorial | Absorb Home, Lifestyle and Recreation
  6. Starting a Border on Broomstick Lace « Speckless Blog
  7. Stokhaken « :: Nicollie's ~Nicx for short~ Blog ::
  8. Crochet Pattern: Infinity and Beyond Broomstick Lace Scarf « Speckless Blog
  9. TAADAA! « Hermine’s Place
  10. En voor mezelf/ and now for myself « Hermine’s Place
  11. Hoe zal ik dit nu noemen????? « Hermine’s Place
  12. How to crochet: How to crochet broomstick lace? | Best of Crochet
  13. Sunburst Hexagon Crochet Motif | Speckless Blog
  14. History of the Broomstick Lace Stitch | Enby Stitches
  15. Top Creative Ideas | DIY … Lace Scarf
  16. Broomstick Lace Panels for Sweatshirts | nelnanandnora

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

