Skip to content

Broomstick Lace: Working with a Lifeline

February 11, 2012

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 10:43 am

    Great tutorial Heidi🙂 I’ve never done this type of crochet before but a friend of mine was showing me one day. She was using a huge errr.. broomstick… So when I saw your post on how you made a neat little tool I emailed your post to her to see. You make this look very tempting now for me to try… Look forward to seeing what your project is🙂 Thank you, Elly

    • February 11, 2012 11:06 am

      Thanks, Elly! Tomorrow’s post will be much more thorough. And no, broomsticks are NOT fun to work with . . . I think making broomstick lace would catch on more with an easier tool (like this one)!

  2. February 11, 2012 12:45 pm

    Reblogged this on jars7 and commented:
    My mother crocheted using broomstick technique at times. Made lovely items.

  3. susana permalink
    February 11, 2012 10:06 pm

    Hola Heidy hace unos años vi esta tecnica con agujas de tejer en un libro de tejido ,como yo quería el rulo mas grande le di varias vueltas en la aguja antes de ponerlo en el gancho,
    como puntilla también la he utilizado ,queda muy original.

  4. January 7, 2013 10:19 pm

    Why do you use that wood thing? A plastic size 50 knitting needle works perfectly, is easy to hold, and the loops slide back off of it easily. Plus, it’s long enough to hold enough loops for a full-sized afghan without any slippage or messing with lifelines.

    • January 8, 2013 7:44 am

      I couldn’t find a knitting needle that didn’t have a stopper thing at the end. Also, I find that something smaller in size is easier to handle. While a knitting needle can hold more loops, to make something as big as an afghan would require something very long — like a piece of pipe — so I prefer to use the lifeline. And, a smaller pin makes it possible to work in rounds easier.

      This is just my solution and I made it to address all the problems I was having with making broomstick lace. You can use whatever works for you!

  5. Lois Dauel permalink
    November 6, 2013 11:02 am

    You are brilliant. I never would have thought of this. LOVE it!

  6. Mar permalink
    January 3, 2014 8:49 am

    I’ve never dude a lifeline for knitting, but I use it all the time while ‘knooking’. Thanks for your tutorials. I’m making the infinity scarf right now!

Trackbacks

  1. CraftCrave | Blog | Textual List: Sunday, 12 Feb 2012
  2. CraftCrave | Blog | Free Handcraft Items or Tutorials (large): Sunday, 12 Feb 2012
  3. Broomstick Lace Tutorial « Speckless Blog

Leave a Reply

