Skip to content

A Story About Broomsticks, Turkey Basters, and Woodworking

February 3, 2012

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 11:07 am

    Would love to see a picture of it with a “lifeline” attached. I’ve only done broomstick lace for a scarf and was wondering how to do it for a full baby blanket.
    Becky

    • February 3, 2012 11:13 am

      Hi, Becky!
      I’ll have some photo tutorials here soon . . . But, basically, you tie a cord (that is a little longer than your finished row will be) to the eye hook. As you work the row, you’ll pull the pin through your loops, and the ones that “fall” off the end will have the cord “lifeline” still running through their centers. You can just carefully leave your loops dangle, as well, but the lifeline is a good place holder.

  2. February 3, 2012 12:36 pm

    Wow, this is awesome! I have wanted to try broomstick lace but the tools (broomstick or giant knitting needle) have put me off. I would definitely like to try this. Also, I didn’t know you could do a lifeline with it–very cool!

    • February 3, 2012 1:00 pm

      I know! I was so surprised at the lack of an actual tool for this — I mean, you can find hairpin lace looms easily, so what the heck! . . . unless there’s a secret broomstick lace guild I haven’t heard of? At any rate, I’ll have them in the shop as soon as I can figure pricing, shipping, and production (and photos).

  3. elisa ryan permalink
    February 3, 2012 1:33 pm

    Hi Speckless, you are such a genius. Will wait for you to post your broomstick supplies for sale. Beautiful work. elisa

    • February 3, 2012 2:57 pm

      Aw, thanks! Hoping to get all this work done within the next week or so . . . I’ll have updates!

  4. Lee permalink
    February 8, 2012 1:23 pm

    so pretty! i purchased some large knitting needles for a cardigan in broomstick lace. i haven’t quite mastered how to get the stitches uniform as you have. beautiful broomsticks,too, and not too long, which is good, easier to work with! so look forward to your tutorial. love your blog!🙂 btw, love the colors in your granny square blanket! so, so pretty.

    • February 8, 2012 5:14 pm

      Thank you so much! I plan to have the tutorial up by next week!

  5. February 24, 2012 6:47 pm

    That is lovely! Thanks for the tutorial. So fun.
    XO

  6. wanda smith permalink
    August 17, 2012 2:07 pm

    ok How did you make it and out of what. Are they dowls and what size did you use. Thanx and you are a GENIUS!

    • August 17, 2012 5:02 pm

      Yes, they are dowels, about an inch in diameter: cut, lathed, belt-sanded, and hand-sanded!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    August 18, 2012 9:51 am

    can’t wait for your tutorial. Would love to see how it is actually done. Shanda

  8. Anonymous permalink
    September 30, 2012 9:47 am

    How long is the pin? What a great idea.

    • September 30, 2012 10:43 am

      It’s about 5.5 to 6 inches long. Much better than a big, long broomstick!

  9. Rose Escobedo permalink
    July 27, 2013 1:46 pm

    I like the short stubby looking one I think I have to ask my son who works for Home Depot to find me a pice of wood no one needed of leftover wood cuttings to make my broomstick

    • July 27, 2013 2:38 pm

      Good idea! You have a Home Depot hook-up? Lucky!

  10. sharon permalink
    December 23, 2014 3:56 pm

    Did you ever come up with a price for making the broomsticks?

    • December 31, 2014 7:34 am

      Yes, I have been selling them in my Etsy shop!

Trackbacks

  1. CraftCrave | Blog | Free Handcraft Items or Tutorials (large): Saturday, 04 Feb 2012
  2. Broomstick Lace Tutorial « Speckless Blog
  3. West Coast Wardrobe Crocheted Lace Knit Duster | Ladies Shop

Leave a Reply

