Skip to content

Free Crochet Pattern: Snowflake Trivet

December 10, 2010

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz Bowen permalink
    July 5, 2011 10:33 pm

    What would it take to make this a dishcloth? Other than 100% cotton yarn?

    • July 6, 2011 8:35 am

      Hi, Liz,
      Technically. the cotton yarn will make it a dishcloth. However, it’s pretty lacy. If I were you, I’d choose a less open-work motif for a dishcloth. The flowering mum trivet in my patterns and tutorials page might be a slightly better option. Or, if you want a smaller scrubbie type cloth, any of the other motifs.

      OR. If there is something specific you’re looking for, let me know and I can see what I can come up with🙂

  2. Robin permalink
    November 29, 2011 11:15 am

    what do i do when it says picot in the pattern? Thx ( :

    • November 29, 2011 12:26 pm

      A picot is a term for a little “bump.” In this case, make the dc the pattern calls for, chain 3, then slip stitch in the top of the dc. This will make that little bump. Let me know if this makes sense!

  3. Shona permalink
    October 1, 2012 2:38 pm

    Hi, could you tell me what the difference is between a skip (sk) and a space (spc)? Many thanks. I’m so pleased I’ve found your blog – your tutes are so understandable and clear.

    • October 1, 2012 4:58 pm

      Sure! Skip means to skip over a stitch from the previous round, and not work into that skipped stitch. A space refers to an actual space from the previous round (it may be a chain one space or greater), and usually (but not always), you’ll work a stitch into it. For example, a pattern might say “make 3 dc in next space,” or “work a shell into next ch6 space.”

      Please let me know if this makes sense — my brain is mush from work!

    • Shona permalink
      October 1, 2012 6:50 pm

      I now feel I should slap my forehead and say “Doh!” I haven’t been to work so I have no excuse for my brain being mush! Thank you and sorry to all those who read the question and wondered if I’d been at the gin bottle all day long……. :oD

    • October 1, 2012 8:26 pm

      Bwah-haha! No worries, it’s a legit question😀

  4. Juju permalink
    October 12, 2012 12:10 pm

    Rnd 4 should read…Rnd 4: Ch 3,dc, hdc, sc, ch 6 and then the rest of the instructions.

Leave a Reply

