Skip to content

The Hex

November 27, 2010

Hello!

This site and contents now live at http://www.hellospeckless.com/

Hope to see you there,

Heidi

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 8:05 am

    I think both bags have their own personality. I also loved it in brown. And did you line it ?

    • December 11, 2010 9:36 am

      Actually, I’m going to get around to lining it today! After I shovel us out . . .

  2. December 20, 2010 5:06 pm

    I love it! Brown is one of my faves. I def thought about the whiteness … it’s washable, so Diane can probably keep it looking bright and new.🙂

    • December 20, 2010 9:23 pm

      Your bag is so spectacular! I hope you don’t mind that I made a knock-off (an inferior one) :)!

    • December 29, 2010 9:25 pm

      OMG, of course not … mine is a knock off of someone else’s, too. Plus, I think we all owe a huge debt of gratitude to the 70s.🙂

    • December 30, 2010 10:31 am

      heehee🙂

  3. gita permalink
    January 21, 2011 10:02 am

    Hello! Thanks for sharing it🙂 I just have a 1 question.. is it american or british terms?
    I’m having troubles with third step.. is it double crochet or single crochet? I mean the term “dc”..
    Thanks🙂

    • January 21, 2011 10:17 am

      Hi Gita! These are American terms, so to me dc=double crochet=yarn over once, insert hook into stitch, yarn over, draw up the loop, yarn over and draw through 2 loops on hook twice.

      I think in British terms, this would be a treble crochet, but I can never remember! Hope this helps–let me know!

    • gita permalink
      January 21, 2011 10:45 am

      Yes, I finally made it! Thanks a lot🙂

  4. Sammie permalink
    January 24, 2011 7:35 pm

    Hello! I have finished sewing all my hexes together and now i cannot figure out how to make it look like a purse do you have more detailed instructions on this? Please help!!!

  5. January 24, 2011 10:20 pm

    Without knowing your exact issue:
    If you have sewn the hexes in the arrangement above, you will have a funny looking little blanket type thing in the shape pictured. Now, take both short sides and connect them together. The hexes should interlock, and this is the “tube” part that I mention above. Once your short sides are sewn together (and you have a tubular shape), sew the bottom shut. This will require that you fold two of the bottom hexes in half (the 2 “half” hexes that you see at the bottom of the finished bag are actually whole hexes that have been folded).

    Does this help? If you can send some more detail about what you’re having problems with (do you need a chart, stitch instruction, etc.), I feel like I can help you better. Talk to you soon!

  6. Laura permalink
    February 4, 2011 7:17 pm

    Your bag is just beautiful.
    One question though, how tall/wide did yours turn out?

    • February 4, 2011 8:01 pm

      Good question. Let me go check quick . . .
      It’s about 13.5 inches tall (not including the straps), and 13 inches wide. It’s fairly large, but that’s because the size is dictated by the hex motif that I used. If you want a smaller bag, I bet you can find a smaller hex pattern somewhere and use the same layout that I did!

  7. Mackenzie permalink
    June 8, 2011 10:15 pm

    This is awesome.
    Thank’s for posting.

  8. August 10, 2011 7:22 am

    This is gorgeous🙂 thank you for posting🙂

  9. Melinda permalink
    September 5, 2011 5:33 pm

    This is adorable I will be trying to make this😀

    • September 6, 2011 7:07 am

      It’s a fun one, but keep in mind that it will be easier to make the puff stitch if you use an acrylic or acrylic blend yarn — I’ve heard that 100% cotton makes it a little difficult (because it has less “give”).

  10. July 22, 2012 10:28 pm

    Hello,

    I shared a link to your page with our group on Crochet Talk. Would you be interested in coming to join our group and letting us know when you have new crochet posts?

    Barbara
    Crochet Talk Moderator
    http://www.crochettalk.com

Trackbacks

  1. Free Crochet Pattern(s): Puff Flower Hexagon & Half Hex « Speckless Blog
  2. Pattern Pride « Speckless Blog

Leave a Reply

