Skip to content

Put a Bead on It

March 9, 2014

crochet scarf with beads

Maybe it’s the long winter. Or maybe it’s lack of creativity. Or, it’s probably both . . .

I have spent the last few months in what I will now refer to as “Heidi’s Scarf Phase.” I have made so many scarves that Nicky no longer asks, “Whatcha makin?” The question has turned to more of a statement of fact: “Another scarf?”

So, because I realize I have scarf issues, and I know scarves aren’t the most exciting thing in this world, I will just share this one with you. And my excuse is this: I solved a problem with this scarf.

Problem: the scarf I was making was not as long as I wanted it to be, and I had run out of the yarn I was using.

Solution: Put a bead on it! Or nine beads, to be exact.

crochet scarf with beads

You should do this, too – it’s so simple and easy. I just wove the last of my yarn through the end of the scarf, cinched it up, strung the beads, cinched it to the other end, and voila!

Here’s the nitty-gritty:

I used this yarn (several partial balls that I probably picked up at a yard sale, and is apparently no longer being made).

I followed this pattern, with some changes: I used a bigger hook (4.25 mm), a thicker yarn, and I did not make the edging.

And I strung on nine large beads that I picked up for a song at a surplus store.

crochet scarf with beads

Now, I am happy to say that the snow mountain outside is slowly melting, and I think Heidi’s Scarf Phase is melting along with it. To be replaced with “Heidi’s Tank Top Phase?” Time will tell <suspense>.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2014 12:13 pm

    What a great idea and it looks fab :-)

  2. Colleen permalink
    March 9, 2014 2:44 pm

    I had one of those ‘why didn’t I think of that’ moments. What a great idea! Thanks…..

  3. March 9, 2014 3:07 pm

    I LOVE this, the beads are such a great touch!

  4. March 10, 2014 5:48 am

    Superb idea! A great added extra. I will borrow that idea, if I may?

  5. March 10, 2014 5:56 am

    Very Cleaver idea! One plus I can see is a cold wind won’t blow your scarf off of you neck!

  6. Amanda C. permalink
    March 10, 2014 8:26 am

    This is a great idea! There are so many times I have run short on yarn. What a lovely, creative solution. I’m really looking forward to “tank top phase”!

  7. April 6, 2014 12:00 pm

    What a neat idea! Trendy looking :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,207 other followers

