Skip to content

Mending

February 7, 2014

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

Hello out there! I am back from the holidays, after all this long while. This time our holidays included a Thanksgiving, three Christmases, a New Year’s, a birthday, a wedding shower, and a bachelorette party – a lot of fun crammed into a short time!

It also included what I will just call a Significant Heartbreaking Event for Nicky and me. I will spare you the details, but suffice it to say that it was the type of Significant Heartbreaking Event that left me wanting to just be alone – I felt like the wind got knocked out of me and any type of motivation to do anything got sucked right out along with it.

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

But, life does go on in spite of ourselves, and unlike the Polar Vortex nightmare that is going on outside right now, I do feel like I am slowly thawing out. In an effort to distract myself from myself, I started working on some projects I have been putting off for forever. It all began with some ancient crochet bedspreads . . .

I inherited two enormous bedspreads that my Great Grampa made – apparently he was an avid and very skilled crocheter. The bedspreads haven’t been well taken care of and they need some heavy-duty mending and stain-removal. I started in on what is turning out to be the herculean task of mending all of the rips and ravels and missing pieces . . . and just got overwhelmed (I will share the bedspreads with you in two years, the actual time it will take me to fix them). So, I moved on to something a bit more manageable: doilies.

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

The doilies have been passed on to me from one of Nicky’s Great Grammas. I wanted them out for everyone to see . . . but I am not exactly the type of person to have doilies sitting out on tables and such. Enter Pinterest, as usual. I saw this post over at Goodknits and knew I had a winner – Lisa’s idea is genius!

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

This project was many things: Meditative. Easy. Satisfying. Also, it made me feel really connected to the past in a weird way, and happy that I found a solution for displaying these heirlooms.

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

No doilies were harmed in the making of these mandalas – I only stitched into the backing fabric, or gently slid the thread through stitches!

Large Embroidered Doily Mandala

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2014 11:28 am

    I love, love, love this idea. I have a snowflake doily that I crocheted that I think I will do this and hang it on my wall!

  2. February 7, 2014 6:46 pm

    Yay so happy you are back, missed reading your posts!!

    Many hugs, good thoughts and prayers sent your way! Hope you and Nicky are doing well. <3

    That is so awesome that you are saving old crochet projects, what a treasure those bedspreads will be once you repair them!! I found a pattern for a bedspread that reminded of one my Maw-Maw had. If I ever get the time and the yarn to make one it's on my list!! Wish I had hers though.

    And I adore this idea for doily's! I love to make them, and I planned on framing a squarish one I started. This will be fantastic for the round ones in my future! :D

  3. Jenny permalink
    February 7, 2014 6:48 pm

    Glad you are BACK !! I’ve missed your posts :) Hope you and Nicky are well !!

  4. February 15, 2014 9:16 pm

    These are so, so GORGEOUS! I just want to look at these all day!

  5. Bev Nelson permalink
    March 5, 2014 11:22 pm

    We’re praying for you going through your heart break. May the Lord surround you with His love and peace. Thank you for sharing these unique and creative ways to ‘dress up’ crochet that has been passed on from our Grans. Hope 2014 will be a good year for you!

Trackbacks

  1. Freaking out about stitched mandalas by Heidi Hengel |
  2. Needlework News | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,231 other followers

