Skip to content

Thread and Beads Infinity Scarf

October 18, 2013

thread and beads infinity scarf

I have a surplus of crochet thread. And I almost never buy it. I think my family finds it at yard sales and gives it to me, or maybe it’s just multiplying on its own, like Tribbles. Either way, I need to get some of it out of the stash and into my life.

Tribbles

Maybe I should have called this post The Trouble with Trebles. Haha, Get it? anyway . . .

Because you can only make so many doilies, so many crochet rocks, and jewelry only uses little bits – I needed to think of something different and BIGGER. So I thought, why not use a big hook and make a big scarf? I know I’m not reinventing the wheel here – I think knitters use big needles with thread all the time – but this is new to me, and a challenge.

I’ll reveal what I did here in case you want to give it a try, but I’m not going to call it a pattern, and this is why:

The edging is directly influenced by this one I found on Pinterest. I started making it verbatim, but I didn’t like how it was looking, so I altered it some.

I’m becoming a little gun-shy to post patterns because I get comments telling me I should make You Tube tutorials and/or that written patterns are too difficult and they aren’t good. While I do partly feel bad about this, that’s just how I roll because I do a lot of my work in the car or at night. This doesn’t really lend itself to taking photos every step. And, I don’t own a Go Pro, which would allow for video. When I win the lottery and I can quit my job, I will make video tutorials . . . I’m still holding out hope! Now,

You’ll need: crochet thread, beads, a H8/5mm hook (for the main body), a size 4 steel crochet hook (for the edging), a needle, and something to string your beads onto (I used clear nylon beading line).

thread and beads infinity scarf

Please note: the 5mm hook is a big(ger) hook, like one you would normally use with worsted weight yarn. The size 4 steel crochet hook is a tiny hook, like one you would use to make doilies. When making the main body, pay very close attention to what you’re doing and make sure to count your stitches often – you really need to know the anatomy of the stitches, as they look very different when using thread and a big hook. Because of this, I am calling this an ADVANCED pattern, not for beginners!

The main body of the scarf will be made in rows, and the edging will be made in the round.

You’ll need to know how to make picots, and I’m sure you can find lots of You Tube tutorials for that. Usually, picots are made with three chains, but I find that making four or five chains is a bit easier and helps the picots lay nicer. I used both four and five in this edging.

Partial pattern chart for the edging (click to make bigger or click this link to download: Lace Edging Chart PDF):

Lace Edging Chart

Thread and Beads Scarf

With the 5mm hook, ch 20.

1. Dc in 4th ch from hook and in each remaining ch. (18 dc counting the 3 ch from when you dc in 4th ch from hook)

2. Ch 3, turn (counts as first dc). Dc in each dc from previous row. (18 dc)

Repeat row 2 until the scarf is as long as you’d like. To make the edging, you’ll need to have a multiple of 10 rows. I did 80 rows and my scarf is about 43 inches around. When you get to the end, cut thread to leave a long end for sewing and finish off. Sew the two short ends of the scarf together with the thread end you left and weave in all ends. Now the main body of the scarf is done.

With the size 4 steel crochet hook, join thread in any space along the outer side.

1. Ch 1, sc in same space. Ch 6. *(sc in next space, ch 6). Repeat from * around. Join to first sc

2. Sl st into first ch 6 space. Ch 3 (counts as first dc). Make (2 dc, ch 3, 3 dc, ch 1) in same space. Ch 1, sc in next space, ch 1. *[make (3dc, ch 3, 3 dc) in next space. Ch 1, sc in next space, ch 1]. Repeat from * around. Join to first dc.

3. Sl st to center ch of first ch 3 space. Ch 1, sc in same space. Ch 13. *(sc in next ch 3 space, ch 13). Repeat from * around. Join to first sc.

4.  Ch 1, sc in same st. (Ch 1, sc in space) 3 times. Make 3 chain-4 picots. (Sc, ch 1) 3 times in same space. Sc in next sc. In next space: Ch 1, dc, chain-4 picot on top of dc. (Ch 1, tr, chain-4 picot on top of tr) two times. Tr, make 3 chain-5 picots on top of tr. (ch 1, tr, chain-4 picot on top of tr) two times. Ch 1, dc, chain-4 picot on top of dc, ch 1. *[Sc in next sc. In next space: (Ch 1, sc in space) 3 times. Make 3 chain-4 picots. (Sc, ch 1) 3 times in same space. Sc in next sc. In next space: Ch 1, dc, chain-4 picot on top of dc. (Ch 1, tr, chain-4 picot on top of tr) two times. Tr, make 3 chain-5 picots on top of tr. (ch 1, tr, chain-4 picot on top of tr) two times. Ch 1, dc, chain-4 picot on top of dc, ch 1]. Repeat from * around. Join to first sc and finish off. Weave in ends.

You are now done with the crochet portion. Before you add your beads, make sure to block your scarf.

Cut a length of nylon beading line (or whatever you’ll string your beads on) that is several inches longer than the diameter of your scarf. Tie one end securely to one of the sc from round 3 (the orange sc in the chart). String on some beads then thread the beading line through the next sc on round 3. Repeat all the way around. Tie your beading line ends together securely and weave the ends into the scarf. Repeat on other side.

thread and beads infinity scarf

thread and beads infinity scarf

49 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2013 12:16 pm

    Wow, this is gorgeous! Itoo have an abundance of ‘inherited’ crochet thread, so this is going on my next project to do list. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. October 18, 2013 12:24 pm

    This is gorgeous!!

  3. CLARISA permalink
    October 18, 2013 1:50 pm

    Bellísimo .Gracias por compartirlo.

  4. October 18, 2013 2:33 pm

    How beautiful! How is it that people who crochet end up with lots of thread, ’cause I have a goodly supply of it too?

  5. October 18, 2013 4:04 pm

    Ficou um charme… adorei.
    Sonia.

  6. Charity Harrison permalink
    October 18, 2013 6:13 pm

    What a beautiful scarf. Thanks so much for sharing!

  7. jet permalink
    October 19, 2013 7:24 am

    beautiful the beaded edge you’ve made, thank you very much of your tute to make it myself.Really gorgeous, well done gril;-D

  8. Cathy permalink
    October 19, 2013 10:08 am

    This is lovely! I hadn’t thought of trying thread with a big hook, may have to give it a try! Your edging is gorgeous. Thank you!

    • October 19, 2013 10:43 am

      Yeah, I don’t know why I never thought about it before, either! It is a bit challenging, but it works up into lacy fabric SUPER fast!

  9. Brickparachute permalink
    October 19, 2013 11:16 am

    So absolutely stunning! Thank you for sharing the pattern for free!

  10. Anonymous permalink
    October 19, 2013 6:59 pm

    That is spectacular! Thank you very much.

  11. October 19, 2013 9:02 pm

    Beautiful. I can ‘t wait to try it.

  12. October 20, 2013 8:26 pm

    What a great idea to use thead with a large crochet hook! Love your result and thanks so much for sharing your design. :)

  13. Wendy Geoghan permalink
    October 21, 2013 7:40 am

    This is gorgeous! Can’t wait to try it. Will be my first beading project. Thanks for the pattern.

  14. Lu Ann permalink
    October 21, 2013 4:12 pm

    Exquisite.

    Thank you for sharing.

  15. SueStitches permalink
    October 22, 2013 10:56 am

    Reblogged this on SueStitches and commented:
    A friend of mine sent me the link to this infinity scarf pattern from Ravelry and I had to respost it. Isn’t it gorgeous?

  16. SueStitches permalink
    October 22, 2013 10:57 am

    This is gorgeous! Reposted it to my blog so everyone else can see it :)

  17. Donna Mae Baukat permalink
    October 22, 2013 2:08 pm

    Oh boy, I think this is my next big challenge. Thanks for the pattern. I appreciate you!

  18. October 22, 2013 3:48 pm

    It’s lovely. I much prefer crochet diagrams over video. I can see what to do straight away.

  19. Polly a/k/a neednap permalink
    October 23, 2013 4:30 am

    This is really lovely. How much thread did you use to get the length you made? How many beads? Most of my thread I have only a ball of this and a ball of that…I tend to do motifs (mostly snowflakes), so I have the tools and skills to accomplish this…I just want to make sure I have enough of the supplies! I’m hoping the larger hook and looser gauge will help, as I’ve had problems with my hands and am trying to get back into knitting and crochet; I’m used to tiny hooks but having trouble with stiffness and pain, so want to ease back into it with something looser. And I can take my time with it.

    Thanks for a beautiful pattern.

    • October 25, 2013 8:33 am

      I didn’t measure the thread exactly, as it was from a partially used ball. It was from one of those larger balls, but as I said, it was partially used. It didn’t really seem to make a dent in that ball, either. I think you’ll be safe with a pretty new ball of thread — small or large. If you use white or cream, it will be easy to buy extra matching thread if you end up needing more, and it will be easy to add on because the scarf is made in 2 parts. The beads will vary, depending on what kind and size you use, but this is about how mine broke down: 480 small pearls, 80 medium pearls, 80 large pearls, and 1200 seed beads.

      Oh, and it just occurred to me: it might look really nice to do this in 2 colors — one for the main body and one for the edging!

  20. cat3crazy permalink
    October 25, 2013 7:39 pm

    I only see a box with a red X for the lace edging chart. ;(

    • October 26, 2013 9:52 am

      WHAT?! That is so weird — I don’t know why that would happen. Send me your e-mail and I can send you the PDF, if you’d like!

  21. October 26, 2013 12:56 pm

    This is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    • sp1904 permalink
      November 12, 2013 11:05 pm

      I found this through ravelry and am almost finished making the body, but the chart image won’t show up for me either :/ would it be possible to email it to me as PDF as well? Thank you :)

    • November 13, 2013 6:58 am

      Hi! I just added a link above the chart to download the PDF. Can you let me know if this works — the whole thing is very strange (that it won’t show up). Thanks!

  22. sp1904 permalink
    November 13, 2013 3:15 pm

    The download link worked perfectly. Thank you :)

  23. November 13, 2013 3:49 pm

    Good lord that is a gorgeous scarf!! May I ask what size thread you used for the main body and was there a different size thread for the edging?

    • November 16, 2013 7:44 am

      I think it it 10 weight bedspread cotton (?) I used the same thread for the body and the edging — I just changed hook sizes. Any cotton crochet thread will work!

  24. Anonymous permalink
    November 29, 2013 12:59 pm

    Thank you so much! Wonderful scarf and wonderful description, learnt a lot from it.

  25. Mary Ann permalink
    January 9, 2014 11:38 am

    Where are the direction for the sizes and amounts of the beads to be used for the threads and beads infinity scarf. I love it and want to make it for my granddaughter, who loves these kind of scarves. Thanks

    • January 12, 2014 8:40 pm

      The beads will vary, depending on what kind and size you use, but this is about how mine broke down: 480 small pearls, 80 medium pearls, 80 large pearls, and 1200 seed beads!

    • Mary Ann Kicmal permalink
      January 13, 2014 3:41 pm

      Thank you very much for the quick response, it is very helpful. I will let you know how my scarf turns out. My granddaughters birthday is in March so it will be a few weeks. Thanks again, Mary Ann

      ________________________________

  26. January 25, 2014 11:13 am

    LOVE THIS. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL ONE

  27. January 25, 2014 12:10 pm

    Thank you for the pattern & the photos! I love ideas for the finer thread I have around the house…

  28. January 25, 2014 2:50 pm

    Wow so pretty. This definitely goes on my to-do list. I’m sure I’ll be making several once my sisters see it!

  29. Lori permalink
    January 25, 2014 4:48 pm

    This is beautiful. I don’t have an abundance of crochet thread but I will buy some to make this 😍

  30. beck permalink
    January 26, 2014 10:50 am

    Beautiful! And thank goodness someone still writes patterns. I hate charts!

  31. January 28, 2014 12:47 pm

    Thank you for this beautiful tutorial ! I will do this scarf as soon as possibly !

  32. January 30, 2014 9:20 am

    Посмотрите на досуге http://ardiss.ru/katalog-proektov/karkasno-panelnyie-doma/150-250-kvm1 возможно вы захотите себе его купить. А также: деревянные дома из профилированного бруса под ключ, дома из бруса оцилиндрованного цены, проекты финских дачных домов.

  33. Saoirsé permalink
    February 7, 2014 12:58 pm

    This is just Stunning! I can’t think I would ever be able to make it as it looks SO difficult! Though I would love one. What a creative and generous heart you have to put this pattern up here for free, very kind ;-) As for people telling you that you should be doing You Tube tutorials etc. take no notice – patterns are better than charts anyway, I knit mostly and much prefer patterns for that as well – no, you do it your way and we should all be very thankful for what you do!

    • February 7, 2014 1:43 pm

      Aw, thank you — that feels so good to hear!

  34. July 19, 2014 6:56 am

    Cant wait to make it, beautiful
    Thank you for sharing

  35. July 25, 2014 5:35 pm

    It’s lovely. Thank you for posting this.

Trackbacks

  1. Wednesday Facebook Fan Favorite Free Crochet Pattern- Week 11 | Beatrice Ryan Designs
  2. Wednesday Facebook Fan Favorite Free Crochet Pattern- Week 11

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,237 other followers

