Skip to content

Big Day DIY: Fancy-Schmancy Hair Bling

November 21, 2012

handmade headband by speckless

So this is pretty self-explanatory. In a search for something to wear in my hair, I did find a few things that tickled my fancy . . . but they came with a very hefty price tag. Instead of buying new, I wanted to try and make something myself first. I just ripped the flower off an old headband, grabbed some beading wire, and made a bunch of little beady branch-like things. All this with no plan, and it turned out surprisingly well.

handmade headband by speckless

Some day, when I master the art of taking photos of my own head, I’ll show you what it looks like on an actual human. It looks so much better in its natural environment – all the beads and pearls look like they’re floating and the wire doesn’t really show at all.

handmade headband by speckless

Total cost of the headband I wanted to buy: $180.00

Total cost of the headband I made: about $3.00

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonia Rucker permalink
    November 22, 2012 8:43 am

    Que delicada ficou esta tiara,já imaginei para uma daminha..Meu Parabéns.Um grande abração. Sonia.

    ________________________________

  2. November 23, 2012 7:30 pm

    so pretty! :)

  3. November 26, 2012 9:12 am

    Fantastic! Weddings are so expensive, and it means more to make your own – a future heirloom maybe? Thank you for sharing, Maggie.

    • November 26, 2012 6:38 pm

      What a great idea! We’ll see if it stands the test of time (or the test of an hours-long dance party)!

Trackbacks

  1. Freeze | Speckless Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,120 other followers

