Skip to content

All-year-round Pumpkin Smoothie

October 31, 2012

Yes, it is definitely that time of year when everything is pumpkin flavored. I like pumpkin any old time, but I really do start to obsess about it in fall . . . probably because of the onslaught. Everywhere you turn it’s “pumpkin this” and “pumpkin that,” and I can’t seem to get it off my mind. My old standbys are this pumpkin oatmeal or the pumpkin custards from here (love!).

So, a couple weeks ago when I went to make some pumpkin custards and didn’t have any eggs in the house, I made this pumpkin smoothie instead – and I haven’t looked back!

pumpkin smoothie

Now, let me tell you – this is so good it’s definitely going into the regular rotation. You might see me with a pumpkin smoothie in mid-July. Do not judge.

Ready to take a one-way train to Pumpkin Town? Put this in a blender (I use a Vitamix):

  • 10 oz plain almond milk
  • 1 small nub of ginger, peeled (about an inch)
  • 2 TB flax seeds
  • ¼ tsp (rounded) pumpkin pie spice
  • Couple shakes of cinnamon
  • A dash of nutmeg
  • A liberal squeeze of maple or agave syrup
  • 1 heaping TB protein powder (I use this one)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • ¼ can pure pumpkin puree, frozen
  • 4 ice cubes

Blend everything until it’s nice and smoothie-like. Taste for sweetness and spice-ness and adjust to your liking. If using a regular blender, you might need to stop and scrape down the sides a few times. As for the frozen ingredients, get those chilling the night before. I separate one 16 oz can of pumpkin into 8 silicone muffin cups, and just pop two frozen pumpkin lumps (!) into each smoothie. This makes enough for two servings, or one if you’re a piggy like me. Also . . .

jack o lanterns

Boo! Happy Halloween!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 6:46 pm

    That sounds yummy!! And your pumpkins are awesome!!! Love carving pumpkins! :D

  2. November 1, 2012 1:28 pm

    Oh that looks delicious, I will give it a go.

  3. November 2, 2012 11:10 am

    This sounds awesome!

  4. November 5, 2012 7:32 am

    Looks so delicious! I shall have to get my bag and go out shopping as I’m desperately wanting pumpkin fun now! Thanks for sharing! Maggie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,123 other followers

