Skip to content

Easy Broomstick Lace Collar, or Scarf, Pattern

March 7, 2012

broomstick lace collar scarf

This is a super-easy project for learning broomstick lace. I really shouldn’t even call it a pattern! I made this one with some really soft lighter weight yarn (kinda like a Caron Simply Soft), but this is flexible – you can use anything you’d like. I really wanted to get a shot of this being worn, but Nicky hasn’t been available during daylight hours to take pictures. I tried to get Penny to model it, but he was not having it. Not at all. Ready to make this lacy collar/neck gaiter/cowl/scarf? Let’s do it:

To make the collar with buttons:

With a G6/4mm hook, chain 26.

Row 1: Sc in second ch from hook, and in each remaining ch to end. (25 sc)

Rows 2-3: Ch 1, turn. Sc in each st. Put a marker on the front of row 3 to mark this side as the right side. (25 sc)

Row 4: WIth your lace pin, pull up a broomstick lace loop (bL) in each st to end. You can read more about this here. (25 bL)

Row 5: Using the technique here, and working through five bL at a time, make 5 sc in each group of 5 bL. (25 sc)

Rows 6-7: Ch 1, turn. Sc in each st to end. (25 sc)

Row 8: Pull up a broomstick lace loop (bL) in each st to end. (25 bL)

Repeat rows 5-8 until collar is desired length and fits nicely around your neck. You’ll end on a loop row (row 8).

When collar is at your desired length, repeat row 5 once more. Cut yarn, finish off, weave in ends. Sew three large-ish buttons onto row 2 (on the right side, which you marked earlier), making sure to line them up with the lace group “eyes.” The final two rows that you did will be the “button holes.” In other words, the lace itself = holes for the buttons to be secured.

broomstick lace collar scarf

Want to just go ahead and make a full-on scarf instead of a collar? Easy. Just keep going and going with the pattern until you feel like your scarf is long enough.

Want to make it wider? That’s easy, too – just adjust your beginning chain accordingly. This pattern is a multiple of five + 1, so for your beginning chain: 5 × (number of lace groups you want) + 1. There are 5 lace groups in the above collar (5 × 5 + 1 = 26).

54 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 7:09 am

    Thank you so much Heidi! A great little project :) I thought it was a wrist warmer until I read the title, LOL.. A great little neck warmer though… :) Elly

    • March 7, 2012 7:29 am

      Well, you could totally make it a headband . . . it’s a multi-purpose pattern, I suppose!

  2. March 7, 2012 7:22 am

    Ohhh !! It’s very beautiful !! Thank you !! Cil

  3. craftingismybliss permalink
    March 7, 2012 2:43 pm

    So pretty in the grey yarn. I have broomstick lace on my “to do” list.

  4. lee permalink
    March 8, 2012 10:27 am

    this is so pretty- what a great idea to use broomstick lace– it’s so delicate and lovely. great work! must make this! :) thanks for sharing the ‘how to’. :)

  5. March 8, 2012 10:57 am

    Broomstick lace is on my to-do list too! I think every time you post about it it climbs a spot on my list because I can’t resist any longer! :) Great pattern! And it fits perfectly with my current cowl/neckwarmer obsession. It’d be great to make in a light yarn for a springtime accessory!

    • March 8, 2012 11:57 am

      I think I’m headed toward (another!) neck accessory obsession, as well! Trying to resist . . .

  6. March 12, 2012 11:51 am

    I love this, and I love broomstick lace! I have wanted to try it since I started crocheting. I need to try it soon hehee :)

    • March 12, 2012 2:30 pm

      Hey, Melinda! Been wondering where you’ve been :)!

    • March 12, 2012 3:16 pm

      Hehe :-) I have been around just not as often as I used to be, I had to put my blog on hold for the time being :-/ Some stuff came up in rl I did not expect but all is good and maybe one day I may have time for my blog again at least I hope cause I love it!
      But don’t worry I will still be around to read your awesome posts! <3
      And I think I need to try this pattern, though I may turn it into a long scarf, I have a thing for long scarfs hehee! Would be nice to have for next winter!

    • March 12, 2012 3:23 pm

      long scarf = more practice = more pretty

  7. March 26, 2012 1:15 pm

    Broomstick lace is so pretty. I’m thinking of using it as a Kindle or iPad cover. :)

  8. Monica permalink
    July 8, 2012 9:48 pm

    Making an afghan based off of your pattern! thanks!

    • July 9, 2012 7:16 am

      Yes! Be sure to check out the patterns and tutorials tab — I have instructions for how to make a border when you’re all done!

  9. Leann permalink
    August 23, 2012 11:13 pm

    My mom taught me this stitch, really prety.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    August 30, 2012 9:55 pm

    really pretty and I would love to make this but it doesn’t print. ?

    • August 31, 2012 7:27 am

      If you click the “more” button to the right of the share toggles at the bottom of the post, that should do it (there’ll be a “print” button that pops down). I’ve never tried this, so let me know how it works!

    • Anonymous permalink
      September 3, 2012 11:42 am

      this still doesn’t print. I really would love to make this. fix?

    • September 3, 2012 5:03 pm

      I tried the print button here on my end, and it does seem to work! I would make a PDF to link to, but my design programs are down right now. I can’t understand why the print button shouldn’t work on your end, but my next suggestion is to copy and paste the text to a word editing program (text edit, ms word, etc.) and just print it that way.

    • Anonymous permalink
      October 1, 2012 8:00 am

      I was having trouble printing this and with the more button also. It will print if you right click on the text.

    • October 1, 2012 4:52 pm

      Hmmm. Suspicious! I wish it wouldn’t work on my end, so I could at least trouble-shoot what’s going on!

  11. September 21, 2012 7:24 pm

    I have a question. What’s a “lace pin”?

    • September 21, 2012 9:11 pm

      It’s a tool I made to make broomstick lace — I sell them in my shop!

    • jolynn permalink
      September 30, 2012 10:52 am

      When I used to do this we used a short well sanded piece of an old broom handle; hence, the name broom stick crochet. You can just buy a fat dowel and cut it. It helps to hold your place nd keep the stitches seperate as you cross over the stitches

  12. gladysalicea permalink
    September 30, 2012 6:59 am

    Esta super linda

  13. September 30, 2012 8:29 am

    I was successful at printing also. Possibly pressing “Ctrl” and P together would print.

    • September 30, 2012 10:44 am

      Ruth, thanks for letting me know — I was a bit worried!

  14. Brenda permalink
    September 30, 2012 10:29 am

    OMG best pattern EVER! I was looking for something new and fun for Christmas gifts and this is it!! Thank you so much!

  15. d carter permalink
    October 5, 2012 8:33 am

    This is awesome! I had never made broomstick lace before now and I love working on it. Your instructions are supreme. I did have a problem printing rows 4 nd 5. The print version comes out with the sites printed out. I just copied the two rows from here and put them in a word processor and taped the finished lines over them. Thanks for so much hard work. You are appreciated.

    • October 5, 2012 4:27 pm

      Thanks so much — I’ve never had the compliment of “supreme” before!

  16. October 9, 2012 9:28 pm

    This could easily be made into a clutch purse! Add a little lining, castover three sides, and voila!

  17. Anonymous permalink
    November 2, 2012 8:44 pm

    What size pin did you use?

  18. KJHC permalink
    November 17, 2012 9:52 pm

    I really love this pattern! I’ve already made one cowl for a friend for Christmas and am making another with the remainder of the ball of yarn for my step-mom. Such a lovely, fancy-looking (yet so easy!) pattern. Thank you!

    P.S. I put a picture on my blog, but I made sure to credit you for the pattern and link to your blog!

  19. Diane C permalink
    November 20, 2012 5:32 am

    Hi, I am Diane and I am re-learning the art of crocheting and I stumbled upon your website and this pattern and fell in love with it. I am going to try it and see if I can make this scarf I just love it!

    • November 20, 2012 7:30 am

      Awesome! I also have a lot of patterns that are geared more toward beginners under Patterns & Tutorials, as well!

  20. julie permalink
    December 30, 2012 11:58 am

    I have noticed several people trying to print and having trouble, just select the text and photos on the page you want. And copy and paste it into a word document. You shouldn’t have any trouble doing that.

    • December 30, 2012 12:01 pm

      Word — thanks, Julie. That’s actually what I do myself anyway. Then you can format it to use less paper and ink.

  21. January 3, 2013 2:13 am

    I love it. Thank you for sharing. I will try to do it.

  22. Sara permalink
    May 10, 2013 11:27 am

    Excellent pattern! What yarn did you use?

  23. Anonymous permalink
    June 9, 2013 4:39 am

    i have made many of these, including alot of baby blankets for showers. i use different lenghts of broomsticks for different size afghans…

  24. Carolin Sarian permalink
    September 20, 2013 4:38 pm

    I made a baby blanket with this pattern. It looked beautiful. But be prepared, it uses a lot of yarn. It is worth the yarn and the effort.

  25. Anonymous permalink
    December 6, 2013 11:06 am

    I just started the process of learning broomstick (jiffy) lace. Its a lot easier to learn than I expected!

  26. December 9, 2013 3:08 pm

    Thank you! I’m going to try it tonight! I think i’m going to make it a baggie for storing something (Haven’t thought what yet)

Trackbacks

  1. CraftCrave | Blog | Free Handcraft Items or Tutorials (large): Thursday, 08 Mar 2012
  2. The wonders of YouTube (and yarn) « The Morning District

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,264 other followers

