Skip to content

Dissecting David Bowie

March 4, 2012

david bowie embroidery

So, I started this project last Saturday and have been working on it furiously ever since. I hate to admit it, but I am not the type of person who “enjoys the process.” Rather, I get an idea in my head and I just want to see it done and in my hands immediately – perfect and complete.

I’ve had this project in my head for a while now, so it was soooo ready to come to fruition. After many tangles and needle pricks and obsessing (embroidery is not my forte), it’s finally done!

david bowie embroidery

Oh you pretty thing, I lurve you!

I also learned a new technique (and had to be very gentle with myself because it’s not perfect): shisha. I followed a couple different tutorials, but ultimately liked a combination of the two: the base stitches here and the fill in stitches here. The little gold “mirrors” are really just circles I cut from Highlife cans (Nicky is a Highlife drinker, so I had plenty of material on hand).

shisha embroidery

shisha embroidery

I wrapped the hoop with black and gold thread, and finished the back using this tutorial. Mr. Bowie was definitely a laborious little project, but it’s my favorite embroidery piece I’ve done to date! Nicky’s none too happy that this is a gift for someone . . . but I can always make another one. Guess what, you can make one, too – I put this David Bowie pattern up in the shop today!

thread wrapped embroidery hoop

felt back finishing for embroidery

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 10:28 am

    Beautiful! I love the delicate work on this along with the cool subject.

    • March 4, 2012 10:37 am

      Thank ya! I’m still a little buggy about the shisha . . . but I have to keep telling myself, “It’s the first time you’ve done it, so it’s okay that it’s not perfect.”

  2. March 4, 2012 12:33 pm

    love love love this! I’ve been wanting to create a Bowie design myself and you beat me to it. just fab!

  3. March 4, 2012 12:36 pm

    In fact, I’m just now writing a blog post about a favourite Bowie song. Would you mind if I included a link back to you here on this page?

    • March 4, 2012 12:37 pm

      Not at all — I’d love it, actually. Can’t wait to see it!

    • March 4, 2012 12:41 pm

      Yeeee-ah! I see you are a Twin Peaks fan, as well . . . <3!

  4. March 4, 2012 2:35 pm

    Lol, thanks Heidi, yes a Bowie fan who also likes Twin peaks ;-) (And did you just say “yee-ha”?! Very midwestern ;-))
    Here’s a link to the blog post – http://cherryandcinnamon.com/2012/03/04/bowie-conversation-piece/
    Thanks again! b.x

  5. March 4, 2012 3:31 pm

    Love this and love Dave too! He (apart from an insignificant other) was the only person to write a song called Janine. I think he must have written it for me! ;-)

  6. March 5, 2012 8:04 am

    so creative! i think the shisha work you did looks fantastic.
    ps – i’ve started listening to ‘joy the baker’ – it’s great!

  7. craftingismybliss permalink
    March 5, 2012 10:05 am

    What a cool embroidery project. Love the backing and the wrapping of the frame. Nice work.

    • March 5, 2012 6:10 pm

      Thanks! I only have the patience for about 4 complete embroidery projects per year, it seems :D

  8. Colleen Weikel permalink
    March 6, 2012 12:41 pm

    This is great looking! I’m going to try it when life slows down a bit. The stitching is beautiful. Thanks for a great idea.

  9. lee permalink
    March 8, 2012 10:23 am

    love David Bowie– great work! I’ve wanted to try with this technique with mirrors- lovely work!

    • March 8, 2012 11:58 am

      I wanted mirrors, too . . . but I couldn’t wait to go to the store :D

  10. March 8, 2012 11:09 pm

    fantastic concept and execution!

  11. March 25, 2012 5:05 am

    Oh wow, oh wow! Oh gosh! Oh wow! This is too amazing for words.

    • March 25, 2012 1:34 pm

      Thanks! We were sad to see it go . . . but it’s in a good home!

  12. Heidi permalink
    July 11, 2012 3:45 pm

    Great work!

Trackbacks

  1. Bowie: Conversation Piece « Cherry and Cinnamon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,121 other followers

