Skip to content

A Monster Halloween

November 1, 2011

tim as wilfred and heidi as monster

Here’s something I never do: wait until the last minute. But that’s what happened with my costume this year. I waited until the very last minute to decide on something and execute it. If this monster looks a little familiar, it’s because I was madly and heavily inspired by this post over at Fiskars. Here’s how I did mine:

  1. Bought hoodie in little boys’ section at Target ($12.99)
  2. Purchased ping pong ball set, Target ($1.50)
  3. Crocheted horns, stuffed ‘em, sewed ‘em on.
  4. Cut ears out of felt. Sewed them on.
  5. Sewed felt teeth to inside of hood.
  6. Used Sharpie to make pupils on ping pong balls. Glued pin backs to ping pongs. Pinned them to hood.
  7. Used fusible web to stick felt spots on. THIS DID NOT WORK WELL. By the end of the night, a lot of the spots had fallen off.
  8. Made a pair of aqua-colored Peasy Gloves.
  9. Painted my nails blue. I never paint my fingernails, and this felt pretty strange.
  10. Tied on yarn hair extensions.
So, for 15 bucks and about 4 hours of craft time, I have a monster hoodie. I wanted it to last beyond Halloween, and that’s why I glued pin backs to the ping pong balls – I didn’t know how they would hold up in the wash. I’ll have to sew the spots on better for future uses.
.
ping pong eyeball pin
.
monster hoodie costume
.
monster hoodie costume
How was your Halloween? What was your costume? Did you party it up with friends, or take your kids Trick-or-Treating? My favorite costumes were Disco Nicky and Elliot (of E.T.) Josh:
disco nicky and  elliot josh
.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. fabiola permalink
    November 1, 2011 8:06 pm

    freakin crazy!!!!!!! i wanna trick’n’treat with all of you.

    • November 1, 2011 10:15 pm

      It did turn out a little crazy . . . that’s why there’s not more photos! ;)

  2. November 1, 2011 10:47 pm

    What a GREAT costume! It’s so creative and colorful….Bravo!

    • November 2, 2011 6:39 am

      Thanks! I liked it, but next year I won’t wait until the 11th hour, for sure.

  3. Melinda permalink
    November 2, 2011 12:40 am

    That’s a pretty cute monster hoodie :)
    I went to a Halloween party on sat. night and dressed up in a Renaissance dress! It was lots of fun and on Halloween I handed out goody bags to the little monsters that stopped by, we had about 20.
    Looks like you had a fun Halloween :D

    • November 2, 2011 6:39 am

      That sounds awesome — where did you find your costume? I actually searched online for a costume this year, and ALL I could find was “Sexy This” or “Sexy That,” which is not my style at all. It was frustrating.

      Also, your punkins were awesome!

    • Melinda permalink
      November 2, 2011 11:45 am

      I had the same issue with the sexy costumes! I actually found mine a few years ago, it was really expensive so I’ve worn it several years hehee
      This is the dress http://www.museumreplicas.com/p-599-lady-jane-dress.aspx
      but its sold on multiple sites and I actually got mine on sale. And I made a flower head piece with ribbons and stuff to match it. :) I may even wear it to the renaissance fair this month! I can email you picture if you wanna see the headpiece. And thank you about the pumplis they took all day to make haha

    • November 2, 2011 7:00 pm

      That’s a sweet get-up — you’ll definitely get a lot of use out of it!

  4. November 2, 2011 10:22 am

    ah my dog outfit didn’t make it -__-’

Trackbacks

  1. Last Minute Halloween Costume Ideas
  2. Rémisztő szörny jelmez – kapucnis pulcsiból, varrás nélkül! - MintaMókus
  3. Disfraz de mostruo casero. DIY | Con tus manitas
  4. DIY Monster Hoodie Costume « 1000+ Halloween Costumes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,207 other followers

