Skip to content

Crochet Pattern: Tiny Pear Necklace Charm

October 16, 2011

crochet pear charm

So, there’s this commercial that’s been running here and there. I think it’s for yogurt. These two women are at a coffee shop, and that’s about all the plot I know because I get immediately distracted by wardrobe. One of the women is wearing this awesome bicycle print dress and (what I think is) a pear necklace. I became obsessed with the pear necklace. I pined for a little pear necklace. I finally made a petite pear necklace. And you can, too.

crochet pear charm

For the fruit:

With a 00 (3mm) hook and a light-weight 4-ply yarn (I used Caron Simply Soft in Pistachio, which feels between a regular and baby-weight), make a magic circle.

Round 1: Make 6 sc in ring. Don’t join rounds with a sl st, just keep working your scs around, using a marker in the first stitch of each round to keep track.

Round 2: Make 2 sc in each st around. (12 sc)

Rounds 3-5: Make 1 sc in each st around. (12 sc)

Round 6: Sc in first st. Decrease 1 sc over next 2 sts. *(Sc in next st, decrease 1 sc over next 2 sts). Repeat from * around. (8 sc). You will want to start stuffing your pear now. Anything will do – fiberfill, yarn scraps, cotton balls.

Rounds 7-9: Sc in each st. (8 sc). Add a little more stuffing as you go. You might need to use the butt end of your hook or a pencil to jam it in there. At the end of round 9, finish off and leave a long tail for cinching. Using a large, blunt needle, weave your yarn tail in and out of the stitches from round 9. Cinch tightly, knot yarn inconspicuously to your work. Stab your needle down and through the pear, pulling the yarn tail out somewhere toward the bottom. Pull yarn tight and cut excess. This is to hide the yarn tail. You can see a similar technique here. Now, time to leaf it up:

crochet pear charm

For the leaves (make 2):

With a size 7 steel crochet hook and green crochet thread, chain 8 (leave a long tail for sewing the leaves to the pear). Sc in second ch from hook, hdc in next ch, dc in next ch, tr in next ch. Dc in next ch, hdc in next ch, make 3 sc in last ch (do not work over your thread tail here, you need it for later). Spin your work clockwise like a steering wheel so that the stitches you just did are pointing toward you and the bottom loops of your chain are pointing away (you are now working in the round). Hdc in next ch (this will be mirror image to the hdc on the other side). Dc in next ch, tr in next ch, dc in next ch, sl st in last ch. Sl st to first sc made. Finish off. Weave in the end on the pointed tip of the leaf. And now, finish him (anyone else play Mortal Kombat growing up?) . . .

crochet pear charm

Using the thread ends from the leaves and any means comfortable to you, tack the leaves securely to the top of your pear and attach a jump ring to the top (I sewed the leaves to each other, then sewed them with a couple loops to the pear and the jump ring all at once). Knot your thread and hide the end as you did for the pear. Now, string your charm on a necklace chain or attach it to a keyring. Done, y’all.

.

As usual, please let me know if there are any issues with this pattern. Also, if you make this, I’d love to see it – post your project on the Flickr group!

And one more thing . . . you may make and sell these, but please don’t pass off the pattern as your own original design . . . Thanks so much!

60 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    October 16, 2011 10:22 am

    How cute! :)

  2. October 16, 2011 10:27 am

    That’s ridiculously cute! I have absolutely no reason to make one, but I really want to make one anyway :) (Found when i was tag surfing wordpress. Hello!)

  3. Kinnicchick permalink
    October 16, 2011 10:38 am

    WAH! That is adorable. Thank you for the pattern. SO cute. You rock, dear. Gotta find some perfect yarn and some time for these… I think that is my biggest problem in the world of crochet – lack of time for all of the problems I want to make.

    Mind if I pin this?

    • October 16, 2011 11:03 am

      Pin away! This is so easy and quick. The hardest part is patience because it’s so small — what with the tiny decreases and stuffing.

  4. October 16, 2011 10:53 am

    This is great!

  5. Dawn permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:04 pm

    Can I tell you how happy this makes me? I saw that commercial and within 5 minutes was here, in happy pear necklace heaven, through a link from Crochet Pattern Central! I saw the pattern “Tiny Pear Necklace Charm” and wondered if it would be close enough to the adorable commercial necklace. It is! I will be making me a pear necklace! Thanks for sharing your creativity! :)

    • October 19, 2011 10:09 pm

      Yeeee! You saw that necklace, too? That’s incredible that I’m not the only one! This makes my day.

  6. October 20, 2011 3:46 am

    This is Fresh!
    Really adorable.

  7. October 22, 2011 12:30 am

    I must make one! I haven’t seen the commercial, but I’ll look for it now. 5 minutes ago I didn’t know that I was in absolute need of a ridiculously adorable pear necklace, but now I am! Thank you… found you through Pinterest!

    • October 22, 2011 8:48 am

      I’m that way, too. I’m constantly seeing things I absolutely must have, that I never would have needed before ;)

  8. October 23, 2011 11:23 am

    I am Mortal Kombat fan, i also love 2 play online on mortalkombat2online.co.cc for free

  9. November 17, 2011 7:44 am

    thanks so very much for sharing, can’t wait to make some of these!

  10. stephanie permalink
    November 17, 2011 10:06 am

    I wish i could crochet i really want one of these there so cute (i’ve attempted several times to crochet but failed each time with a tangled mess), would it be possible to knit a pear or felt a pear???, this is such a great blog found it through craft magazine on facebook but will continue to read to find more beautiful creations and inspiration. thank you

    stephanie

    • November 17, 2011 12:47 pm

      I’m no knitter, so I have no idea. I’m pretty sure that it’s difficult to work in the round in knitting, but I bet it could be done somehow. Maybe I’ll have to plan a pear give-away soon ;)

  11. November 17, 2011 10:31 am

    This is beautiful! Found you through Craft!

  12. November 17, 2011 11:13 am

    Never noticed the pear necklace, but fell immediately in love with the bicycle print dress. Please tell me you figured out where it came from??! Googling “yogurt commercial bicycle dress” doesn’t help any :(

    Cute necklace! How do you think a beginner-ish crocheter who has a few dozen granny squares and dishcloths under her belt would do at this?

    Came via CRAFT’s website.

    • November 17, 2011 12:45 pm

      Hi, Michelle!
      I think someone commented that the dress is (was) from Anthropologie — but no longer in stock. This project might be a little frustrating for a brand-newbie because it is so small, but each person is different, of course. Also, the best way to learn is by challenging yourself ;)

  13. November 17, 2011 1:56 pm

    Ooh – this is so beautiful – perfect size, colour and texture: you have captured the essence of pear and I am desperate to try and remember how to crochet again so I can give this pattern a whirl. Thanks so much!

    • November 17, 2011 5:59 pm

      Hmm. It seems there are some pear admirers that can’t crochet . . . I’ll have to think of something. Like a non-crochet version or a give-away or something.

  14. November 17, 2011 4:09 pm

    OH… MY… Gawd! I just died from cuteness! :D so beautiful :) xxxx

    • November 17, 2011 5:57 pm

      I’m using that from now on — I died of cuteness! Ha!

  15. November 18, 2011 3:13 am

    OHH, very Cute!!!

  16. November 18, 2011 10:37 am

    wonderful little treasure — I too have “pinned” it and put a link to it on my blog! Will try to get one made today and post a photo of it (or them) by the end of this day. Thanks for the tutorial!

    • November 18, 2011 10:49 am

      Yea! I’ll be looking forward to it — heading outta town right now, but I’ll check as soon as I get back!

  17. Kim permalink
    December 26, 2011 7:16 pm

    I noticed that necklace too and was looking for one on the internet when I found your post…You are so talented…Thanks for Sharing!!

  18. December 28, 2011 11:10 am

    I love fruit AND crochet so this is just perfect! I will be featuring and linking back so my blog readers can come visit! Pearl

  19. Claire permalink
    January 16, 2012 3:53 pm

    I made one of these, but it was much, much smaller. It was still cute though.

  20. Emilee permalink
    February 28, 2012 12:34 am

    Here is the ad for the yogurt.

  21. Brenda Marie permalink
    February 29, 2012 2:28 am

    That’s so funny- I obsessed over that pear necklace, myself (and yes, it was a yogurt commercial). Thank you for sharing your wonderful pattern!

  22. Kay permalink
    March 22, 2012 2:57 am

    That is the cutest pear I’ve ever seen. I might make one in a gold thread. Thank you for posting it.

    • March 22, 2012 6:39 am

      If you’re on Ravelry, check out some of the little pears other people have made from this pattern — some are even smaller and cuter! I think gold would be lovely!

  23. June 9, 2012 3:18 pm

    Well…I took the challenge and made earrings out of your wonderful pattern. I don’t know your name or I would give you credit. I only made one pair and they are not for sale. They’re tooooo cute! I hope I posted correctly on Flickr for you to see. I wanted to do the bananas for earrings but I just can’t seem to do the “magic circle”, especially that small. I found this when I was looking for crocheted fruit. If you could come up with more crochet fruit……let me know. You are soooooo good! Just Google…Gone Crochetzy. Thanks for the fun.

  24. kerook permalink
    July 13, 2012 4:19 am

    Very cute!

  25. July 30, 2012 4:02 am

    Reblogged this on ZukkaBlu and commented:
    My first reblog!
    I found this pear on Pinterest and my first reaction was ”I wish I’d thought of that!”
    Perfect reason to put it into my ”Inspiration” category, I’d say :)

  26. July 30, 2012 4:05 am

    I found this on Pinterest and loved it so much I’ve reblogged it on my blog… seriousy wonderful – simple and effective!

  27. kaanu permalink
    August 21, 2012 6:48 am

    just made one tiny pear and it is sooooooo cute… thank you for the pattern. I am new to crochet but still was able to make it with excellent pattern.

    • August 21, 2012 7:04 am

      Awesome! You should be very proud — it took me a while after I started to do something so tiny!

  28. October 24, 2012 11:02 pm

    now all we need are patterns for all the fruits! Tiny is so awesome and compelling,I am hopeful for a whole Carmen Miranda theme developed by you!(do you know who she is?)

    • October 25, 2012 6:40 am

      Ha! Yes — I will keep it in mind. After the wedding dust settles, I am definitely going to revisit this. I was also thinking of little hats for winter . . .

      Thanks, Heidi!

  29. November 27, 2012 8:32 pm

    Just had to let you know I made one myself, I get compliments all the time so big thank you :-) I couldnt work out how to do the leaves so I made it up and mine aren’t as good as yours but they still look a bit like leaves

    • November 28, 2012 7:31 am

      Yip! I love it — so glad to hear! Also, the leaves are SO tiny and tedious — I bet yours look just fine (mine aren’t perfect, either). Next time, maybe I’ll just do little felt leaves.

  30. January 5, 2013 12:52 am

    I tried to crochet this today, and the pear part was fine, but I can’t seem to figure out the leaves. I couldn’t visualize how to do the second part of the first leaf (the turning and continuing), and ended up with a weird leaf, so I left it as is. It’s way too long! :) I wish I could understand the leaf instructions. Is there any possible way you have photos showing this step?

  31. January 5, 2013 12:55 am

    It’s me again! I just noticed the pear is done with a 3 mm hook, and your instructions say to do the leaves with a 7 mm hook. Does that seem right to you?

    Also, is the leaf part (spinning clockwise) make the leaf double sided somehow?

    Any clarifications would be great! I’m going to try this again tomorrow. :)

    • January 5, 2013 8:39 am

      Yes, the hooks are right. A 3mm hook (mine says 00) is larger than a size 7 steel crochet hook. It’s not 7mm, it’s a 7 steel crochet hook. Steel crochet hooks are so small that they are numbered differently than hooks for worsted yarn (the bigger the number on a steel crochet hook, the smaller it is). You can use any small steel crochet hook for the leaves, really — they’re the ones used typically for doilies made with crochet thread (which is what you’ll use for the leaves).

      Yes, the leaf is double-sided. It is made mirror-image in the round, with the base chain as the leaf’s center “spine.”

      Melanie, let me know if this helps!

  32. Margot permalink
    February 11, 2013 8:50 am

    Super, just made one for my daughter, who is stuck next to me with the flue. Greets from The Netherlands! Margot

    • February 11, 2013 7:13 pm

      Hi, Margot! Hope the little one feels better soon — and don’t you catch it!

  33. Margot permalink
    February 21, 2013 11:14 am

    Wow, i can tell you i did catch it! three dayz in bed, terrible. Just redid the pear into an apple. Fun pattern to play with!

  34. Jenn permalink
    February 26, 2014 12:13 am

    This necklace is darling!!! I love it. Thanks for the pattern!

  35. Jenn permalink
    March 3, 2014 2:14 pm

    This is darling! I love it! I just made one. Except I’ve been crocheting for a long time, and I cannot understand your leaf pattern for the life of me. I can do it up to the whole spinning like a steering wheel part. I would love it if you could give us some more explanation on what that means. I just finished my leaves at that step and called it good. But I love the pear! I actually felted mine, which made it even tinier, and it’s adorable! Thanks!

    • March 5, 2014 6:31 am

      Hi, Jenn!
      You will work into your chain as usual, but when you get to the end of it, you don’t turn your work like you would if you were working back and forth in rows. You just keep working in the round — into the base chain, but on the opposite side of the chain where you worked the first half of your leaf. You will work in the round, into the base chain. Think of the chain as the main vein in the center of the leaf, and you are making the halves of the leaf into it.

Trackbacks

  1. Cum sa crosetezi o para | tutoriale handmade
  2. Tiny Pear Necklace Charm / Speckless Blog | External Brain
  3. Tiny pears | Billpearson

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,227 other followers

