Skip to content

Free Crochet Pattern: Flower Trivet

March 3, 2011

crochet table cover

Hi and hello. Here is a super-easy pattern for a trivet that I used to make. These come together really quickly and they make great housewarming gifts. Alternatively, you could make a bunch of these and stitch or crochet them together to make a table runner. Protect your table in style with this easy-peasy flower trivet!

Here are the terms you need to know: skip (sk), stitch (st), space (spc), chain (ch), slip stitch (sl st), single crochet (sc), half-double crochet (hdc), double crochet (dc), and treble (tr). You may also want to learn about invisible joins.

crochet flower

Flower Trivet Pattern
Finished Size: 6”

Materials:
Worsted weight 100% cotton yarn, 5.00 mm hook, large blunt needle

Ch 6, join with sl st to form ring
Rnd 1: Ch 6, (dc in ring, ch 3) 5 times. Join with sl st to third ch of beginning ch-6. (6 spc)
Rnd 2: Ch 3 (counts as first dc, now and throughout). 4dc in first ch-3 spc. (dc in next dc, 4 dc in next spc) around. Join with sl st to first dc. (30 dc)
Rnd 3: Ch 4, (dc in next dc, ch 1) around. Join with sl st to third ch of beginning ch-4.
Rnd 4: Sl st in first spc, ch 3, dc in same spc. Sl st in next spc. (3dc in next spc, sl st in next spc) around. End rnd with dc in first spc (to make 3 dc). Join with sl st.
Rnd 5: (Ch 3, sl st in center dc of next shell) around. Join with sl st to bottom of beginning ch 3. (15 spaces)
Rnd 6: (Sl st, sc, hdc, dc, tr, dc, hdc, sc, sl st) in each spc around. Join with sl st or invisible join. Fasten off. Weave in ends.

Done! Please feel free to use this pattern for your own personal enjoyment or for gift giving, but please do not distribute this pattern or pass it off as your own. You may sell items made with this pattern, but please ask me first (you know the drill). Thanks!

UPDATE 3/10/11: I see that the spectacular Craft Gossip linked here (Thanks!), and I just wanted to add the other link — the one for the garland that they show — here. You can also find the garland post under the “Patterns & Tutorials” tab at the top of this blog.

crochet table cloth

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 3:24 am

    I came here from Margi’s blog (http://maverickcrafter.blogspot.com), where she was enthusing about your pattern and remembering these little mats all round her Grandma’s house.
    Thanks for sharing this pattern. I’ll get out my “English-to-USA crochet translator” and have a go! (did you know that we have different names for crochet stitches in UK & USA? Neither did I til I recently got a book that had the stitch translator in it!). Mind you, I don’t know if it has a “yarn type” translator, so I’ll need to work out what we call your “worsted weight” yarn!

    • March 4, 2011 10:00 am

      Ha! I never knew that until about a year ago. I was working out a pattern, and after the first couple rounds I was like, “This pattern is all wrong.” Then I realized what was going on — surprise! The actual name of the cotton yarn that I use says this on the wrapper: Worsted, 4-ply, 113g/4oz. I didn’t know there were different names for all the yarns, too. Augh–they don’t make it easy on us :)

  2. March 4, 2011 7:54 am

    I love that! It is very elegant and looks perfect for some of the girly women I know.

    • March 4, 2011 9:55 am

      Thank you! I think these look great in color, or in plain white for wedding decor!

  3. Sharon S permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:03 pm

    With your permission, I would like to make and try to sell this item for my fund raising.

    • March 16, 2011 2:37 pm

      Sharon,
      Yes, please do! You can make and sell anything (crochet or embroidery) that you see on this site. I just ask that you don’t print off the pattern and sell it (the pattern itself), or pass off the pattern as your original design. Barring that, I think making these for fund-raising is an excellent idea, and I’m honored that you asked!

  4. March 21, 2011 10:17 pm

    Oh, this looks like fun, and I have the perfect yarn for it. I have nothing that shouts “Spring is here!” in my house yet. Hope I have the time to get started soon. :-) Thanks for the pattern.

    • March 21, 2011 10:26 pm

      It’s funny that you say that. I was just thinking of crocheting a group of these together into a “springy” table runner!

  5. March 23, 2011 2:50 pm

    thanks so much for sharing, I’m looknig forward to trying that out!

  6. April 3, 2011 4:17 pm

    Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

    • April 4, 2011 8:50 am

      Hmmm. I’m teaching myself as I go along. I do like WordPress much better than Blogger, which I tried using a few years ago. My site is a not-for-profit, and I’m pretty green, so that’s why I’m using a free platform. If you’re confident in your ability to consistently bring in a ton of views each day or you want to use programs such as AdSense or add a shopping cart, I would consider checking out a paid option. The WordPress forums are a great place to start your research and to find out what is best for you!

  7. April 5, 2011 4:29 pm

    Howdy I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  8. bebe bodycon permalink
    May 10, 2011 4:29 am

    Hey, tried adding your site to google reader and it shows an error message, any idea?

    • May 10, 2011 8:51 am

      Geez. I don’t know! Maybe try to copy the address directly from the address bar? Sometimes that works for me.

  9. May 10, 2011 10:24 am

    Solved it, I was missing a ‘/’ in my http://. Thanks!

  10. Peggie permalink
    October 16, 2011 2:19 pm

    Wow, it seems that whatever you turn your hand to do, you do it exceptionally well!!
    I downloaded some of your crochet patterns and also some boxes to use at Christmas.
    Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful talent.

    • October 16, 2011 2:28 pm

      Thank you so much, that’s very sweet! I should probably do a post or two about all my fails and foibles — for every project that turns out, there’s usually one or two missteps or failed ideas ;)

Trackbacks

  1. FIRST YOU MAKE A TRIVET… · Crochet | CraftGossip.com
  2. Free Crafting Patterns: Knitting and Crocheting | married to a bmw

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,209 other followers

