Skip to content

Tutorial: Over(ly)-Easy Pincushion

November 5, 2010

felt egg

This here is a quick and easy project that uses up felt scraps. These pincushions make great little last-minute gifts — nothing says “you’re a good egg” like an egg-shaped pincushion. Here we go . . .

egg pincushion

Materials:

  • scraps of white and yellow felt
  • embroidery thread: yellow, white, and face color
  • stuffing
  • needle
  • scissors
  • pins

felt food

First, cut a circle out of your yellow felt. Make it any size you’d like (this is a very free-form project), but keep in mind that the circumference will shrink a bit when there’s stuffing under the circle. Using the color of your choosing, sew a face on your egg (happy, sad, surprised, indifferent). By the way, I used four strands of floss for all sewing parts in this tute. You could sew little buttons for eyes (or better yet, use google eyes — dang, why didn’t I think of that before), or you can just make french knots as I did.

felt egg

Cut an eggy-shaped piece from your white felt, making sure to get it bigger than your yolk face. Again, free-form.

felt egg

Start to connect the yolk to the white part with a few whip stitches. Then shove some stuffing under the yolk. The reason for doing this now is so you don’t sew the yolk on too tight, which wouldn’t allow you to really stuff it full. You will add a bit more stuffing later, but for now just put as much under there as you can.

sewing on the yolk

If you want, stick some pins in. I felt that the pins made it easier to sew. Continue to whip stitch around (keep your stitches pretty close together).

felt egg

Keep whip stitching, removing the pins as you go, and try to stretch/squish the edges of the yolk with your thumb as you sew. This keeps everything circular and nice.

felt food

Wait! Stop! Don’t sew all the way around. When you’re almost to the end, shove some more stuffing under the yolk. I put in quite a bit, but stuff at your discretion. Once you are satisfied with the bulk of your yolk, finish sewing the yolk onto the white and knot/cut your thread at the back. At this point, squish the yolk around to even out the stuffing and make it all look nice.

felt food

Now, pin your half finished egg to another piece of white felt. Why not cut two whites from the get-go? Because this way, you don’t have to worry about tracing and lining up. This is just easier. Make sure you pin as close to the yolk as possible so that the white is as flat as it can get.

felt food

Grab your white thread and sew around the perimeter of the white part with a running stitch. You can probably do this on a sewing machine, too.

felt food

Again, when you’re almost at the end, stuff your egg. I didn’t put very much in the white part because I wanted it to be pretty flat. Sew to the end and knot your thread on the bottom of the egg, but don’t cut the thread yet.

sewing felt food

Squish your egg and shove the needle through it.

sewing felt food

Hold the thread. Now you can cut it. This hides the thread end.

cutting out pincushion

Trim out your egg. Again, massage the stuffing around until it’s even and your egg is the shape that you want. That’s it! I hope this tutorial isn’t too wordy and picturey — N said I went overboard for something so simple as this. What the heck — hope you like it!

50 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 10:31 pm

    How cute!

  2. November 6, 2010 8:04 am

    This is really cute. I might have to make some of these but to use as felt food for my grandkids.

    • norma permalink
      January 31, 2011 4:20 pm

      like for granddaughters play food and pin cushion also

  3. November 6, 2010 12:13 pm

    SO CUTE!! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. gerri burkhart permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:39 pm

    sweet

  5. November 7, 2010 7:09 pm

    Adorable :)

  6. November 7, 2010 11:40 pm

    Thanks, all! I hope to keep posting tutorials and free patterns as often as I can.

  7. November 8, 2010 4:00 pm

    That’s sooo cute!

  8. nctech permalink
    November 9, 2010 5:25 pm

    No such thing as too wordey or picturey. Remember, there are plenty of clueless people out there in blogland who need all the words and pictures they can get! :)

    • November 9, 2010 5:28 pm

      Thanks! That is a relief.

    • nctech permalink
      November 10, 2010 12:22 am

      By the way, I am just learning to sew and I think I might actually be able to make this. I am outfitting a sewing box and your egg pincushion is so cute. Even if I completely screw it up, I’ve only lost a little felt and some thread, right?

      P.S. I am one of those people who needs the words and pictures. LOL

  9. November 11, 2010 1:51 pm

    I just wanted to let you know I have linked to this project and thumbnail on our site: http://www.allfreesewing.com/Miscellaneous-Projects/Overly-Easy-Pincushion. I think it’s a great project that our readers will love to make! We are always looking for more tutorials and sewing patterns, so if you have any similar projects please feel free to send them my way or let me know if you prefer we not link to you. Thanks!
    Karisa
    ktell@primecp.com
    Editor, http://www.AllFreeSewing.com

  10. Diane permalink
    November 14, 2010 4:24 pm

    Thanks for sharing! I’m hoping to make some fun felt food toys for my friend’s daughter and hopefully some cute sewing kits too :)

    • November 14, 2010 4:35 pm

      I think sewing kits are great gifts! For Christmas this year, I’m thinking about making little needle books for the crafty ladies in my life.

  11. November 14, 2010 7:54 pm

    This is the cutest thing ever! come on over and link up to MMM :)

    • November 14, 2010 8:21 pm

      Sounds good. How do I link up/post projects?

  12. November 15, 2010 9:14 pm

    Oooooh…. So cute… =)
    Thank for sharing.

  13. November 16, 2010 5:04 am

    lovely…easy tutorial

  14. Lynda permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:14 pm

    Not too wordy or pictury at all! Very cute project especially to give as a gift. I can’t help but lapse into imagination at the thoughts of a whole set of food inspired needlecraft accessories – woo-hoo!

  15. November 26, 2010 12:46 am

    I’d come to check with you one this subject. Which is not something I usually do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

  16. December 12, 2010 10:54 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Cheers!

  17. Dorothy permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:33 am

    How cute want to go make one now!

  18. February 21, 2011 7:12 am

    Great article. Waiting for more.

  19. March 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    This is by far the cutest pin cushion I’ve ever seen! I love it!

    • March 20, 2011 3:04 pm

      Thanks so much! And thanks again for the awesome sweater dress tute!

  20. April 19, 2011 2:40 pm

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for!

  21. May 7, 2011 1:02 pm

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  22. August 17, 2011 9:25 am

    Hi Heidi!

    I’m one of the Editors at AllFreeSewing.com and I just wanted to let you know I have linked to your project on our site. You can see the project here: http://www.allfreesewing.com/Miscellaneous-Projects/Overly-Easy-Pincushion/ct/1. I think it’s a great project that our readers will just love to make. This will easily bring traffic to your site and allow others to see what’s new on your site.

    We’ve tried to contact you previously about the same project and are hoping by reaching out again we’ll hear from you. With that said, can we have permission to link to any project on your site as well as use the image, with credit to you, of course?

    Thanks!
    Jessica Farris
    jfarris@primecp.com
    Prime Publishing LLC
    3400 Dundee Road, Suite 220
    Northbrook, IL 60062
    847-205-9375 Main | 847-513-6099 Fax

  23. Beatrice permalink
    October 19, 2011 4:12 pm

    I just started teaching my granddaughter to sew this is some thing for her to try. thank you .

    i

  24. November 30, 2011 1:50 pm

    Ooo, very cute.

  25. January 10, 2012 9:00 pm

    So amazingly adorable! Thanks for sharing.

  26. March 6, 2012 8:06 am

    So cute, thanks for sharing. I’m thinking refrigerator magnets, maybe a set of two.

  27. December 8, 2012 10:35 am

    Thanks for sharing this nice idea for a funny pincushion! I think I will make some…….

  28. December 23, 2012 6:27 pm

    Loved this idea. I just made one this evening. It was very easy and fun! Thanks for the tutorial. I posted a link to your tutorial along with a photo of my version of the pin cushion on my blog.

  29. Anonymous permalink
    December 6, 2013 8:29 pm

    its cute and easy to follow

  30. December 7, 2013 5:17 am

    Very clever.
    Never can have too many word, pictures, or in my case — pin cushions.
    Thank you so much!

  31. Sarah permalink
    January 26, 2014 7:26 pm

    Very cute. I found this tutorial through Pinterest and I’m glad I did! I’m just about to pull out some yellow and white felt now!

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial: Pincushion sunny side up · Sewing | CraftGossip.com
  2. Skani… adatinė | Eitnė
  3. Crochet Pattern: Tiny Pear Necklace Charm « Speckless Blog
  4. 25 Pincushion Tutorials - darlingadventures.com
  5. Over(ly) easy pin-cushion « creativegirlnyc
  6. des piques aiguilles « s'envoler et ne plus penser…
  7. Field Notes // 1 | Speckless Blog
  8. 100+ Pincushion Patterns - The Sewing Loft

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,261 other followers

