Skip to content

Crochet Pattern: Scalloped Hat and Wrap Around Cowl

November 2, 2010

scalloped hat and wrap around cowl

Treat yourself to some extra-soft-and-fancy yarn and whip up this super easy hat and cowl set. Here’s the stitches you need to know: chain (ch), slip stitch (sl st), single crochet (sc), half-double crochet (hdc), and double crochet (dc). You may also want to know about invisible joins and magic circles.

scalloped hat and wrap around cowl

Materials:

  • thick/bulky weight/chunky yarn; I used Lion Brand Thick & Quick (wool/acrylic blend) in 149 Charcoal (each skein is 108 yards, and I used about 1.5 skeins)
  • crochet hook N/13 (10 mm)
  • large, blunt needle for weaving in yarn ends

For the Cowl:

Chain a multiple of 6 (I did 96 chains). Join chain ends together with a slip stitch, being careful not to twist the chain.

  1. Chain 2 (counts as first half-double crochet now and throughout). Hdc into each chain around. Join with sl st to top of first ch 2. (96 hdc)
  2. Ch 2. Hdc in each st around. Join with sl st to top of first ch 2. (96 hdc)
  3. Ch 3 (counts as first dc). 2 dc in same st (3 dc). Skip 2 stitches, sc in next st. *skip 2 st, 5 dc in next st, skip 2 st, sc in next st.* Repeat * to * around to last sc. Skip next 2 st, 2 dc in same st as first 3 dc. Join with sl st or invisible join into top of first ch 3. Cut yarn. (16 shells)
  4. With right side facing you, join yarn into the other side of the chain (Think of the chain as the center of the cowl. You have completed one half, and now you will be working the second half in the opposite direction, making a mirror image of the first half). Join the yarn where the chain was originally joined together (there should be a yarn end hanging there), or if you can’t see it clearly, join new yarn as close as you can to where the center of a shell will match the other side.
  5. Repeat rows 1 through 3. Weave in ends.

Done! Your cowl should have a total of 4 rows of hdc and 2 rows of shells that are mirror image (or very close) to each other.

scalloped hat and wrap around cowl

For the Hat:

Make a magic circle.

  1. Chain 2 (counts as first hdc now and throughout). 5 hdc in circle (6hdc). Pull yarn end tight to close circle. Join with sl st to top of first ch 2.
  2. Ch 2. Hdc in same chain as joining. 2 hdc in each st around. Join with sl st to top of ch 2. (12 hdc)
  3. Ch 2. 2 hdc in next st. *1 hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next st.* Repeat * to * around. Join as before. (18 hdc)
  4. Ch 2. Hdc in next st. 2 hdc in next st. * 1 hdc in next 2 st, 2 hdc in next st.* Repeat * to * around. Join. (24 hdc)
  5. Ch 2. Hdc in next 2 st. 2 hdc in next st. *1 hdc in next 3 st, 2 hdc in next st.* Repeat * to * around. Join (30 hdc)
  6. Ch 2. 1 hdc in next 3 st. 2 hdc in next st. *1 hdc in next 4 st, 2 hdc in next st.* Repeat * to * around. Join. (36 hdc)
  7. to 11. Ch 2. 1 hdc in each st around. Join. (36 hdc); Go ahead and add more rounds of hdc in this manner if you’d like your hat longer.

Row 12 (or final row): Ch 3 (counts as dc), 2dc in same st (3dc). Skip 2 st. Sc in next st. *Skip 2 st, 5 dc in next st, skip 2 st, sc in next st.* Repeat * to * around to last sc. Skip last 2 st, 2 dc in same st as beginning 3 dc. Join with sl st or invisible join to top of first ch 3. Cut yarn and weave in ends.

FINI. Now you have a lovely, matching hat and cowl. Make some for yourself. Make some for your friends. Heck, make some to sell — but please don’t pass this pattern off as your own : ) Enjoy!

scalloped hat and wrap around cowl

Of course, if you find any sort of problem with this pattern, or if anything is unclear, please let me know!

Did you make this project? Come on over and add it to the Speckless Makes Flickr group!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. mary mack permalink
    November 7, 2010 1:58 pm

    Thank you for sharing – I have some beautiful chunky yarn – too much for this ,not enough for that – this looks perfect. Thanks again, love it.

  2. November 12, 2010 7:40 am

    I just made the hat yesterday and Heidi, I LOVE it. Love love it! Super quick, ridiculously cute and really satisfying to make. Every girl I know is getting one!

    There’s a picture here.

    • November 12, 2010 8:38 am

      Yippee! I’m so glad you like it! I really want to see it, but the link isn’t working for me . . .

    • November 12, 2010 9:20 am

      UPDATE: Found the pic. Love it!

  3. November 15, 2010 11:47 am

    Lovely! I just learned to crochet a few weeks ago. I’ll add this to my list of Christmas gifts to make!

    • November 15, 2010 12:03 pm

      Awesome! This project is great for beginners. I am hoping to have a crochet headband and crochet purse pattern up this week, also.

    • November 19, 2010 9:28 am

      I’m almost done with the scarf. LOVE it and will start the hat soon. I’ll share a link from my crafty blog when I’m finished!

    • November 19, 2010 9:33 am

      Yeah! I can’t wait to see it!

  4. renee permalink
    November 15, 2010 8:27 pm

    love the pattern modern functional as well, a must too try this thanks sooooo much

  5. November 15, 2010 8:56 pm

    Just wanted to pop in and say a big “Thank You” for all the great feedback on this pattern! I really appreciate it!

  6. Alessandra O. permalink
    October 20, 2011 7:47 am

    Mi piacciono molto i tuoi lavori! Posso mettere un link al tuo lavoro nel mio blog?
    Alessandra

    • October 20, 2011 7:48 am

      I really like your work! Can I put a link to your work in my blog?

    • October 20, 2011 4:43 pm

      Hi, Alessandra! Yes, I’d be happy for you to link me up — thanks so much!

  7. duaba fix permalink
    December 13, 2011 9:18 pm

    This is the best-written pattern I’ve ever seen; so easy to understand and follow. Thank you for it so much.

    • December 14, 2011 6:39 am

      Thanks so much! This was one of the first patterns I ever wrote, so it’s good to hear!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    August 23, 2012 2:29 pm

    I very much like the scallops on the hat, it gives a much nicer look.
    JCG1224

  9. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2012 4:45 am

    Lovely set can’t wait to make CraftyAnne x

  10. melissa permalink
    October 29, 2012 6:20 pm

    I love this pattern, its so easy and cute, i will be making these for my sister- in- laws for Christmas!

  11. Denise permalink
    December 19, 2012 2:54 pm

    Can’t wait to try this. About how wide and long is this scarf as written? How quick can this be whipped up by an experienced crocheter?

    • December 19, 2012 7:40 pm

      It’s oh — about 4.5 inches wide and about 50 inches around. I made the hat and cowl both in about 2 hours, if I remember correctly — super fast!

  12. Laura Postal permalink
    December 25, 2012 4:22 pm

    I am using a bulky weight yarn but it isn’t thick & chunky like the one you used. (Frankly, I don’t know why they call it bulky. It is wispy…but I have a vision so I can’t stray from using this yarn) So…just wondering what kind of adjustments I’ll have to make if I use this yarn. I’m sure I’d have to add stitches. Well, I’m gonna get started. I look forward to your reply.

    • December 25, 2012 7:42 pm

      Hi, Laura! What is the name of the yarn? I’ve seen others make this hat with several different kinds of yarn — usually with good results. If I were you, I’d get started and test it out as you go. If the hat is too small, just add an extra round or two in which you increase. Let me know if this makes sense!

  13. Heidi permalink
    August 9, 2013 3:43 pm

    Can’t wait to make with my hand spun alpaca/angora yarn!

  14. August 19, 2013 11:49 am

    How do you make a magic circle for the hat?

  15. August 20, 2013 12:07 pm

    Love this pattern! I just made the cowl. I played around with the pattern a bit and added some really fun yarn in. I’ll post a picture when I get the chance!

  16. September 14, 2013 11:59 am

    I crochet the cowl this morning in about 2 hours. It was super easy. I will make more. Thanks for the pattern.

  17. Lilly O permalink
    October 6, 2013 7:50 pm

    Hi,

    I’ve been meaning to comment on this pattern for the past two years! I just wanted to let you know that I’ve made this scarf about four times since I came across it. Thank you so much!

    I did not attach the ends, instead I put a button on the opposite side and wrap it around that way. (hopefully that makes sense!)

    • October 8, 2013 12:41 pm

      Lilly — thank you so much! This is good to hear!

Trackbacks

  1. NICE CAP AND COWL SET – A FREEBIE FOR YOU! · Crochet | CraftGossip.com
  2. Kreativ-Links, Teil 37 – Abraxandria

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,257 other followers

